Twitter Reactions: India makes a mockery of Windies, takes the series 2-0


After a closely contested first T20I, India and Windies moved to Lucknow for the second game. The venue hosted its first international game and became the 52nd international ground in India. Rohit Sharma, the captain of India, decided to make the inaugural game at the venue special for the thousands that turned up.

Rohit lost the toss and as a result, India had to bat first. But that was the only thing went wrong for the Men in Blue. The openers Rohit and Shikhar Dhawan made a cautious start against the new ball. The score was just 11 after 3 overs. But when the spinners came into the attack, the Indian batsmen took a full toll and the score reached 49 after 6 overs.

The captain reached his fifty and also, the century partnership was up in the 13th over. Dhawan departed after scoring 43 courtesy Fabian Allen. Rishabh Pant was promoted to No.3. But the left-hander fell in the bid to strike big from the outset. After 16 overs, India was 136/2 when KL Rahul walked out to bat.

Rohit was carrying on his merry way and kept launching some towering sixes. Rahul too played a quickfire knock of 26 from 14 balls to help the side to a big total. In the last over, Rohit got to his 4th century and became the only batsman to have 4 T20I centuries. He also became the leading run-getter for India in the format, going past Virat Kohli. India piled on 195/2 after 20 overs.

The Windies innings never had the momentum. Indian bowlers kept striking wickets with ease. The visitors were restricted to 124/9 with Darren Bravo being the highest scorer with 23. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Jasprit Bumrah and Kuldeep Yadav bagged 2 wickets apiece as the hosts won the match by 71 runs and clinched the series with a game to go.

Match Summary

Windies won the toss and opted to bowl first

India: 195/2 in 20 overs

Rohit Sharma 111* (61), Shikhar Dhawan 43 (41)

Fabian Allen 33/1 (4), Kharry Pierre 49/1 (4)

Windies: 124/9 in 20 overs

Darren Bravo 23 (18), Keemo Paul 20 (21)

Bhuvneshwar Kumar 12/2 (4), Jasprit Bumrah 20/2 (4)

India won by 71 runs

Player of the Match: Rohit Sharma


Here are the best tweets that hailed India


Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma is now the only man with 4 centuries in T20 internationals

Indian Squad for the first Australia T20

Bumrah, Kuldeep and Umesh rested for the 3rd T20I versus Windies