Connect with us

Cricket News

Sehwag, Afridi and Gayle to play in T10 cricket league in Dubai

Shahid Afridi
Shahid Afridi

When the first ever World T20 took place a decade ago in South Africa, it was an unknown format. But after the grand success of the event, T20 cricket took the game by storm. It brought a revolution in cricket and the game is completely different from what it was at that time.

Several T20 leagues like IPL, BBL, CPL were introduced all around the world that took the game to altogether a different level. Now the game is about to witness an even smaller version. A T10 cricket league is going to be organized in Dubai in the month of December this year.

It will feature some of the biggest names in cricket. Shahid Afridi, Virender Sehwag and Kumar Sangakkara will be the brand ambassadors and Eoin Morgan, Shakib Al Hasan and Misbah-ul-Haq will be team icons. The Caribbean explosive batsman Chris Gayle is also expected to join. The matches will be played in Sharjah over 4 days and the duration of each game will be 90 minutes.

Big guns speak

“When I was told of the T10 league I jumped and said that ‘please I want to play this’,” said Shahid Afridi at the launch of the new league in Dubai on Tuesday (October 3).

“We all have played ten overs a side on the streets of India, Pakistan and Bangladesh but at a higher level this league will provide a better implementation of this,” said Shaji Ul Mulk, the UAE-based businessman, who launched T10 cricket league in Dubai.

“We all remember the days when Twenty20 cricket was launched and it impacted the other formats of the game. If this new format takes off I am sure it will also have an impact on the other three forms of the game,” said Eoin Morgan.

Misbah-ul-Haq, who recently retired from Test cricket, said, “I am excited and this format gives a chance to the ageing players like me because it needs just ten overs of batting and another ten for fielding so for my age it’s sustainable.”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


No live match currently in Progress!

No Upcoming match yet!

No completed match yet!

T20 Match 1 16:00 PM 20 February 2020
Quetta Gladiators 171/7 (18.3)
Islamabad United 168 (19.1)

Match Ended

Quetta Gladiators beat Islamabad United by 3 wickets

T20 Match 2 10:00 AM 21 February 2020
Karachi Kings 201/4 (20.0)
Peshawar Zalmi 191/7 (20.0)

Match Ended

Karachi Kings beat Peshawar Zalmi by 10 runs

T20 Match 3 15:00 PM 21 February 2020
Lahore Qalandars 138/8 (20.0)
Multan Sultans 142/5 (16.1)

Match Ended

Multan Sultans beat Lahore Qalandars by 5 wickets

T20 Match 4 09:00 AM 22 February 2020
Quetta Gladiators 148/5 (20.0)
Peshawar Zalmi 153/4 (18.3)

Match Ended

Peshawar Zalmi beat Quetta Gladiators by 6 wickets

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News