ICC World Cup 2019: Final England Squad For World Cup Announced

The 15-member England cricket team has been announced by England chief selector Ed Smith on Tuesday at Lord’s. There have been few changes from the preliminary team announced earlier. Keep reading to find out England’s final Squad For ICC World Cup 2019.

David Willey Misses Out

Fast bowler Jofra Archer is named in place of David Willey. It was known that one of Tom Curran and Willey would be dropped to include Jofra. Curran’s recent performance has saved him. Jofra has been rewarded for his good showcase against Pakistan where he picked three wickets at an average of 36 and S/R of 44.

Hampshire’s in-form Liam Dawson has replaced Joe Denly, who failed to create an impact against Pakistan. James Vince has been taken in the place of Alex Hales, who was dropped for failing a drug test. Dawson had a terrific Royal London One-Day Cup where he smashed a century and took 18 wickets at an economy of 4.1.

Chief Says

Smith said, “We’ve seen Jofra Archer play against Pakistan and we’ve seen the skills he has. It’s pretty straightforward. He’s an outstanding talent, that’s clear to all of us. He has pace, bounce, skill.”

However, Willey and Denly could be introduced later if the team replacements for injured players, subject to approval from the ICC’s events committee. But then those changes would be permanents ones. While talking about Willey, Smith opined, “The new-ball area is strong and David Willey was unfortunate. He could easily have been in the World Cup squad, he deserved to be in. It was a very difficult situation we were in as a panel. We had more players than we were allowed.”

Smith informed how the selectors had a tough time choosing the time. They have understandably tried to keep the best for the mega event. England will start the tournament as one of the favorites and that too in front of the home crowd. This World Cup is probably the best chance for England to seal the hunt.

England Squad For ICC World Cup 2019

Eoin Morgan (C), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Written By Shreyasi Dravid

Also Read: Who will win the ODI World Cup 2019? Here are the top 5 contenders

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you