Australia Squad for T20 World Cup Announced

Australia Squad for T20 World Cup Announced
Image source: ICC Twitter Official (@ICC)

Australia announced the squad for T20 World Cup 2021. They named a 15-man squad that will be led by Aaron Finch in the coveted event hosted by Oman and UAE.

Australia’s T20 Squad for WC Analysis

Aaron Finch will be leading the Australian side in the upcoming T20 World Cup. Reportedly, he is in the recovery process from a knee injury. Steve Smith, the star player is back to the squad too after recovering from an elbow injury. As expected, Pat Cummins, David Warner, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell and Kane Richardson made returns after missing a couple of assignments. “We have some of the best players in the world in their respective roles combined with the collective experience to succeed against the very best T20 sides in the world,” chairman of selectors George Bailey said.

However, the inclusion of Josh Inglis surprised quite a few as he had been added to the side ahead of Alex Carey. The chairman revealed, “Josh has been on our radar for some time with his performances in white ball cricket and more recently in the Vitality Blast where he topped the run charts. He offers the squad flexibility in the batting order with his adaptability, counterattacking ability and power striking. He is a player we are excited about for the future.”

Shoaib Akhtar Predicts the Winner Of T20I World Cup

Mitchell Swepson will be Australia’s third spinner with Adam Zampa and Ashton Agar being the primary ones. “Mitchell has been impressive with the opportunities he has had,” Bailey said. “Given the amount of cricket being played at the World Cup venues, we expect the wickets in the UAE to favour slow bowling, particularly in the latter stages, so he gives us another strong leg-spin option.”

The Squad

Australia will start the World Cup campaign with a match against South Africa on October 23. The squad includes, Aaron Finch (C), Pat Cummins (VC), Ashton Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Swepson. Dan Christian, Daniel Sams, and Nathan Ellis will fly as reserved players.

Caribbean Premier League 9 Dates Released

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

What do you think?

Written by Shreyasi Talukdar


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Match 1 POR vs MAL Live Cricket Score

POR vs MAL Live Score: Malta and Gibraltar tour of Portugal, 2021 Match 1 POR vs MAL Live Cricket Score ball by ball Commentary, Scorecard & Results

Shreyas Iyer or Rishabh Pant? Delhi Capitals Yet to Choose Captain for Remaining IPL 2021

Shreyas Iyer or Rishabh Pant? Delhi Capitals Yet to Choose Captain for Remaining IPL 2021