Connect with us


Afghanistan to make their Test debut against India in Benagaluru


The historic announcement has been for the Afghanistan cricket team as they are set to make their debut in international Test cricket. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced that Afghanistan will play their first ever Test against India at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru from June 14th to 18th later this year.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) had given the Test status to Afghanistan alongside Ireland last year. Since then, the Afghan side has been willing to start off their campaign in the longest format of the game with a Test against India.

India has been playing host to a lot of Afghanistan’s matches as the Noida cricket ground was used by them. There was a demand from them to play their first Test against India at the same venue but BCCI opted to go for Bengaluru.

An incredible journey

The story of the Afghan cricket team has been a memorable one. It wasn’t too long ago that they marked their beginning in international cricket. The team improved leaps and bounces in no time and made a strong case for itself to be considered amongst the other strong cricketing nations.

A lot of credit for their rise goes to 2 players – Mohammad Nabi and Rashid Khan. The duo has represented their national side for long and has helped them win quite a few games. They also made a name for themselves by taking part in various T20 leagues around the world.

Both featured in the Indian Premier League last year and especially Rashid Khan caught everyone’s eyes when he was bagged by Sunrisers Hyderabad for a whopping bid of INR 4 crores. His masterful leg-spin bowling did full justice to his price tag as he claimed 17 wickets in the last edition. He is doing exceptionally well in the ongoing Big Bash League and is one of the prospects who can bag the heftiest bids in the upcoming IPL auction.


Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


No live match currently in Progress!

ODI 09:30 AM 24 May 2019
SA 0-0(0)
SL 0-0(0)

Sophia Gardens, Cardiff


ODI 09:30 AM 24 May 2019
AFG 0-0(0)
PAK 0-0(0)

Bristol County Ground, Bristol


ODI 09:30 AM 25 May 2019
NZ 0-0(0)
IND 0-0(0)

The Oval, London


ODI 09:30 AM 25 May 2019
AUS 0-0(0)
ENG 0-0(0)

The Rose Bowl, Southampton


One-Day Final 10:00 AM 25 May 2019
HAM 0-0(0)
SOM 0-0(0)

Lord's, London


No completed match yet!

Most Viewed

Like us at Blogadda

More in Trending