2017 in Review: Cricadium’s ODI team of the year

Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma
Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma
ODI team of the year
ODI team of the year

It’s time for us to turn our heads towards the ODI team of the year. The Test team of the year consisted of mostly the renowned names in the sport but the best XI for the shorter format of the game includes some of the players who made a name for themselves in 2017 and stood well above the rest.

While the ODI cricket was seemingly losing its sheen due to the advent of T20 cricket, 2017 turned out to be the breakthrough year for the format. Throughout the year, there were some mind-boggling performances and nail-biting finishes that kept the fans intrigued. We have compiled the list of the standout performers of the year and it makes for an invincible best XI of the year.

Here’s presenting Cricadium’s ODI team of the year

#1 Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma

Talk about the first choice opener and there is absolutely no need to look beyond Rohit Sharma. Yes, he was a notable name in the game but 2017 was a year that put him in a league of special players in limited overs cricket. We talk highly about Virat Kohli’s majestic batting in ODI cricket but look what Rohit has been able to achieve.

In 21 innings this year, he scored 1293 runs at a massive average of 71.83 that included 6 centuries and 5 fifties. Very recently, he made 208* runs against Sri Lanka and became the only player to have notched up 3 double hundreds in ODI cricket. It’s an absolutely incredible achievement and one that might not be broken for a number of years to come.

Rohit’s Batting Stats in 2017

Matches Innings Runs Highest Score Average 100s 50s Strike Rate
21 21 1293 208* 71.83 6 5 99.46

Indian Squad for the first Australia T20

India rises to No.2 in ICC T20I Rankings on the back of Sri Lankan clean sweep

Sunrisers Hyderabad

IPL 2018: 5 players Sunrisers Hyderabad should look to retain