Virat Kohli wins ICC Cricketer of the Year and ODI Cricketer of the Year awards

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli

Indian skipper Virat Kohli has bagged top honors in the ICC Awards as he has won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the being Cricketer of the Year and the ODI Cricketer of the Year. He had a magnificent time with the bat last year across formats and so he is named in the Test Team of the Year and ODI Team of the Year as the captain of both the sides.

The 29-year-old scored 1059 runs in 10 Tests at an average of 75.64 with 5 centuries and 1 half-century. Additionally, he amassed 1460 runs from 26 ODIs at an average of 76.84 and a strike rate of 99.11 with 6 centuries and 7 fifties. He also finished as the leading run-getter of the year in ODI cricket.

Australian captain Steve Smith has been awarded the Test Cricketer of the Year. He has had an outstanding year in the longest format of the game as he accumulated 1305 runs in 11 Tests at an average of 76.76 with 6 hundreds and 3 fifties and ended the year as the highest run-getter.

India’s Yuzvendra Chahal has won the T20I Performance of the year for his mind-boggling spell of 25/6 against England in January in Bengaluru. Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan has been announced as the Associate Cricketer of the Year.

Pakistan’s victory over India in the final of the ICC Champions Trophy has won the Fans’ Moment of the Year. Hasan Ali, who played a huge part in his team’s triumph, has won the Emerging Cricketer of the Year.

Here’s the full list of ICC Awards

ICC Umpire of the Year: Marais Erasmus

ICC Fans’ Moment of the Year: Pakistan’s CT 2017 triumph

ICC Associate Cricketer of the Year: Rashid Khan

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Hasan Ali

ICC T20I Performance of the Year: Yuzvendra Chahal

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year: Steve Smith

ICC Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award: Anya Shrubsole

ICC ODI Team of the Year

David Warner, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), Babar Azam, AB de Villiers, Quinton de Kock (wk), Ben Stokes, Trent Boult, Hasan Ali, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah.

ICC Test Team of the Year

Dean Elgar, David Warner, Virat Kohli (c), Steve Smith, Cheteshwar Pujara, Quinton de Kock (wk), Ben Stokes, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mitchell Starc, Kagiso Rabada, James Anderson.


Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

ICC World Cup 2019: Afghanistan Team Preview, Strengths and Weaknesses

Afghanistan to make their Test debut against India in Benagaluru

Rashid Khan

5 overseas players who might bag the highest bids in IPL auction 2018