Top 10 Players Who Have Hit The Most Number Of Sixes In IPL

Top 10 Players Who Have Hit The Most Number Of Sixes In IPL
Most Number Of Sixes In IPL

The Indian Premier League, since its inception in 2008, has been known for some thunderous batting. The way the batsmen adapted the format, simply revolutionized the game. Hitting sixes became the trend. There have been some batsmen over the years who don’t look at the gaps on the ground, rather they aim the crowd.

When it comes to the most number of sixes in IPL history, who else can be the leader? It has to be the Universe Boss – Chris Gayle. The hard-hitting left-hander has hit a massive 326 sixes so far from 124 innings. It is quite astonishing how he has struck sixes at will over the years. And guess what, he isn’t finished yet.

AB de Villiers, fittingly, occupies the 2nd slot. The South African has 212 sixes to his name. It’s daunting that there is a difference of 114 sixes between No.1 and No.2. Both Gayle and de Villiers have played quite a lot for Royal Challengers Bangalore together. No wonder, the Chinnaswamy has a history of producing high scores.

Among the Indians who feature in the top 10 are MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Yusuf Pathan. David Warner, Shane Watson and Kieron Pollard are the other overseas batsmen who constitute the top 10.

Most Number of Sixes in IPL
Player Span Matches Innings 6s
Chris Gayle (KKR, KXIP, RCB) 2009-2020 132 131 349
AB de Villiers (DD, RCB) 2008-2020 169 156 235
MS Dhoni (CSK, RPS) 2008-2020 204 182 216
Rohit Sharma (DC, MI) 2008-2020 200 195 213
Virat Kohli (RCB) 2008-2020 192 184 201
Kieron Pollard (MI) 2010-2020 164 147 198
David Warner (DD, SRH) 2009-2020 142 142 195
Suresh Raina (CSK, GL) 2008-2019 193 189 194
Shane Watson (RR, RCB, CSK) 2008-2020 145 141 190
Robin Uthappa (KKR, MI, PWI, RCB, RR) 2008-2020 189 182 163

-Stats as of IPL 2020

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Mohammed Shami

Mohammed Shami 2.0, a great prospect for India’s World Cup campaign

Virat Kohli, India

Twitter Reactions: India stole the victory from Australia to pull off 500th ODI win