Rayudu, KL Rahul included in India’s squad for the ODI series against England

KL Rahul
KL Rahul

The selectors have gone in with the in-form batsmen Ambati Rayudu and KL Rahul for India’s squad for the 3-ODIs against England. While Rayudu has shone for Chennai Super Kings, Rahul has shown glimpses of brilliance while playing for Kings XI Punjab.

Another new inclusion in the ODI and T20Is against England is the pacer, Siddharth Kaul. He has impressed one and all with his performance in the ongoing IPL. While representing Sunrisers Hyderabad, he has picked up 13 wickets so far in 10 games.

Rahane dropped from ODIs

Ajinkya Rahane, who has been named the captain for the one-off Test against Afghanistan in the absence of Virat Kohli, has been omitted from the ODI squad. He was tested at the No.4 slot in the ODI series in South Africa but the right-hander didn’t perform consistently.

Manish Pandey misses out in the ODI squad while he has been retained in the T20I team. Umesh Yadav, who has had an impressive run in the IPL for Royal Challengers Bangalore, has been named in both the limited overs sides. Jaydev Unadkat and Shardul Thakur, who had featured in the previous series, have been dropped.

Suresh Raina was able to hold on to his spot in the shortest format of the game. The all-rounder Washington Sundar has also been recalled while the left-arm spinner Axar Patel has been removed.

India will play 2 T20Is against Ireland that will be followed by 3 T20Is and as many ODIs against England. The long tour of England will finish with as many as 5 Test matches post the limited-overs leg.

India’s ODI Squad

Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Siddarth Kaul, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav

India’s T20I Squad

Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Siddarth Kaul, Umesh Yadav


Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Ajinkya Rahane

India’s squad for Afghanistan Test announced, Rahane to lead in the absence of Kohli

KL Rahul

IPL 2018, Match 40, Turning Point – Where did it go wrong for KXIP against RR?