India’s squad for Afghanistan Test announced, Rahane to lead in the absence of Kohli

Ajinkya Rahane
Ajinkya Rahane

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced India’s squad for the one-off Test against Afghanistan. Virat Kohli will not take part in the Afghanistan Test as he will make his way for his debut stint in County cricket. He will represent Surrey and in his absence, Ajinkya Rahane will lead the side in whites.

Rohit rested, Karun recalled in the Test side

Rohit Sharma has been rested for the Test match as he has been playing non-stop cricket for quite some time. He had led the side in the home series against Sri Lanka while other big names were rested. He didn’t have a good time in South Africa and post that, he has been involved in the IPL.

Karun Nair has been recalled in the squad while Kuldeep Yadav also finds back his place after being omitted from the South Africa Test series. The pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have been rested while Shardul Thakur finds a place in the 15-member squad.

The regular wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha returns to the squad and will replace Parthiv Patel. Cheteshwar Pujara and Ishant Sharma, who are currently playing in the County cricket, will feature in the Test side for India and will return back to England post that to resume their County stint.

The one-off Test against Afghanistan will begin on June 14 that will be hosted by the M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru. It’s the first time that Afghanistan will play the longest format of the game after they received the accreditation for Test cricket by ICC.

India’s Squad for the Afghanistan Test

Ajinkya Rahane (C), Cheteshwar Pujara, Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Karun Nair, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Hardik Pandya, Ishant Sharma, Shardul Thakur


Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Yusuf Pathan

IPL 2018, Match 39, SRH v RCB: What was the Moment of the Game?

KL Rahul

Rayudu, KL Rahul included in India’s squad for the ODI series against England