Connect with us

Cricket News

Orange Cap Winners of IPL

IPL Stats: Orange Cap Holders From IPL 2008 to IPL 2019

When the Indian Premier League came into existence in 2008, it brought several new advances to the game. The most innovative way was introduced to reward the leading run-getter and the highest wicket-taker of the tournament. An Orange Cap was presented to the leading run-getter while the highest wicket-taker won the Purple Cap.

In the first edition, Shaun Marsh from Australia, who represented Kings XI Punjab, became the first winner of the Orange Cap. He scored 616 runs from 11 matches. Even though KXIP couldn’t go on to win the league, but it was the breakthrough tournament for Marsh who hogged the limelight and later went on to represent the national side as well.

Matthew Hayden of Chennai Super Kings then won the Orange Cap in 2009. The legendary Sachin Tendulkar then became the proud owner of the honor in the 3rd edition. Chris Gayle, who played for Royal Challengers Bangalore, snatched the Orange Cap in the next 2 seasons. He is still the only batsman to win it in 2 consecutive seasons.

David Warner is the other who has won it twice. He got it while playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the years 2015 and 2017. Michael Hussey, Robin Uthappa and Kane Williamson are the others to win the Orange Cap one time each.

However, the record for the most runs in a season is held by Virat Kohli. The right-hander scored a mammoth 973 runs in the year 2016. He is the only batsman to cross the 900-run barrier in a season. Also, he scored 4 centuries which is also a record for the most number of tons in a season.

Here’s the list of Orange Cap Winners of each IPL season:-

Orange Cap Winners of IPL 
Year Team Player Country Matches Runs
2008 Kings XI Punjab Shaun Marsh Australia 11 616
2009 Chennai Super Kings Matthew Hayden Australia 12 572
2010 Mumbai Indians Sachin Tendulkar India 15 618
2011 Royal Challengers Bangalore Chris Gayle West Indies 12 608
2012 Royal Challengers Bangalore Chris Gayle West Indies 15 733
2013 Chennai Super Kings Michael Hussey Australia 16 733
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Robin Uthappa India 16 660
2015 Sunrisers Hyderabad David Warner Australia 14 562
2016 Royal Challengers Bangalore Virat Kohli India 16 973
2017 Sunrisers Hyderabad David Warner Australia 14 641
2018 Sunrisers Hyderabad Kane Williamson New Zealand 17 735
2019 Sunrisers Hyderabad David Warner Australia 12 692

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


No live match currently in Progress!

Test 1st Test 22:30 PM 20 February 2020
IND 0-0(0)
NZ 0-0(0)

Basin Reserve, Wellington


T20 Intl Match 1 08:00 AM 21 February 2020
IND 0-0(0)
AUS 0-0(0)

Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney


T20 Intl 1st T20I 16:00 PM 21 February 2020
AUS 0-0(0)
SA 0-0(0)

New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg


One-Day 03:00 AM 22 February 2020
EL 0-0(0)
AUS 0-0(0)

MCG, Melbourne


T20 Intl Match 2 07:00 AM 22 February 2020
THA 0-0(0)
WI 0-0(0)

WACA Ground, Perth


No completed match yet!

T20 Match 1 16:00 PM 20 February 2020
Quetta Gladiators
Islamabad United

Match yet to begin

T20 Match 2 10:00 AM 21 February 2020
Karachi Kings
Peshawar Zalmi

Match yet to begin

T20 Match 3 15:00 PM 21 February 2020
Lahore Qalandars
Multan Sultans

Match yet to begin

T20 Match 4 09:00 AM 22 February 2020
Quetta Gladiators
Peshawar Zalmi

Match yet to begin

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News