No Kane Williamson for New Zealand’s T20I series against India

Kane Williamson will miss the three T20I against India starting on November 17. Tim Southee will be leading the side in the first game.

The media release by the New Zealand Cricket said that Kane Williamson, the regular Blackcaps skipper is preparing for the Test series already that is set to start from November 25 in Kanpur. “Less than 24 hours after falling to Australia in the ICC T20 World Cup Final in Dubai, Williamson and the 15-strong T20 squad arrived in Jaipur on Monday evening ahead of the G.J. Gardner Homes Tour of India.” It added, “With the opening game of the T20 series on Wednesday evening, followed by games on Friday and Sunday night – the decision was made for Williamson to join the Test specialist group already training in Jaipur as they focus on red-ball preparation.”

Tim Southee therefore will lead the side in the first match. “Fellow dual squad member Tim Southee will captain the T20 side for the opening game on Wednesday, while Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, and Mitchell Santner are also available for both series.”

The media statement also gave update about Lockie Ferguson’s injury who is likely to be available for the T20I series. “Lockie Ferguson’s recovery from a right calf-strain continues to progress well and he is expected to be available for the T20 series.”

New ZealandT20 squad for India:

Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Kane Williamson

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you