IPL 2020: KL Rahul to captain KXIP in IPL 2020

IPL 2020: KL Rahul to captain Kings XI Punjab in IPL 2020
IPL 2020: KL Rahul to captain Kings XI Punjab in IPL 2020

After the exit of Ravichandran Ashwin from Kings XI Punjab, there was a question regarding their captaincy slot. A lot of names from the team and outside as well were coming up as options for the prestigious role. Finally, on the day of the auction, the franchise cleared their intention on the same. They disclosed the name of the new captain of the Punjab based IPL team.

Rahul handed over the captaincy

Ravichandran Ashwin was the captain of Punjab team for last two seasons. While he was a good contributor with the ball, he failed to impress one and all as the skipper. It was mainly due to his failure as the captain of the team, Kings XI Punjab decided to leave him during the trading window for IPL 2020. There were some high-profile names in the competition who could be opted for the role. But the franchise decided to look into the team and hand over the duty to their opener KL Rahul.

Rahul who has by now established himself as one of the prominent T20 players for India will be the captain of Punjab team for the 2020 edition of the Indian Premier League.

Wadia discloses news

KXIP co-owner Ness Wadia announced the same on Thursday and told PTI, “We are happy to appoint Rahul as our captain for the upcoming season. He has been through a lot in the last year or so and has now come back strongly.” Wadia further applauded Rahul for silencing critics with his performance and the team will look up to him as a player and a skipper now. “He has silenced his critics. You will get to see his ability not just as a batsman but also as a captain. He was our unanimous choice.

KXIP had bought Rahul for a whopping Rs 11 crore ahead of the 2018 season. After Ashwin’s departure, Rahul’s name was rumored a number of times as the next suitable captain for KXIP. Wadia only confirmed the news today.

Kings XI Punjab had some interesting buys today in the auction in Kolkata. They bought Glenn Maxwell (Rs 10.75 Crore), Sheldon Cottrell (Rs 8.5 Crore), Ravi Bishnoi (Rs 2 Crore), Prabhsimran Singh (Rs 55 Lakhs), Deepak Hooda (Rs 50 Lakh), James Neesham (Rs 50 Lakh), Ishan Porel (Rs 20 Lakh), Chris Jordan (Rs 75 Lakhs), and Tajinder Dhillon (Rs 20 Lakhs).

Also Read: IPL 2020 KXIP Squad: Kings XI Punjab Team for IPL 2020

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitterand Instagram

Dream 11 Team Tips HBH vs SYS, Best Players to Pick for Today’s BBL 2019-20 Match 4

BBL 2019-20, Match 5, BRH vs MLS Dream 11 Team Today

Dream 11 Team Tips BRH vs MLS, Best Players to Pick for Today’s BBL 2019-20 Match 5