IPL 2019: Chennai Super Kings released 3 players

CSK released 3 players ahead of IPL 2019

Chennai Super Kings have released 3 players from the squad ahead of IPL 2019. English pacer Mark Wood is the most prominent amongst the 3 to be released. Kshitiz Sharma and Kanishk Seth are the other 2 that CSK released. Both fall in the category of uncapped players.

Wood played just 1 game for the franchise in the previous edition. The pacer failed to pick up a wicket in that game. The other 2 released players didn’t get a chance to feature in the playing XI. The defending champions retained 22 players which also includes David Willey. The English left-arm pacer was brought in as the replacement for Kedar Jadhav who was ruled out due to a hamstring injury early in the tournament.

The franchises have a deadline of November 15 to submit their retentions to BCCI. The player auction for IPL 2019 will take place in December. Earlier in the day, Mitchell Starc was released by Kolkata Knight Riders.

IPL 2019 could be held outside India

The 12th edition will be coinciding with general elections in India. As a result, a part of or the full tournament might be held outside India. There have been 2 such incidents when the IPL was held outside India. South Africa was the host for the complete tournament in 2009 while in 2014, UAE played host to the first half and the remaining was organized in India.

The IPL 2019 will be held just before the ICC ODI World Cup next year. There has been a concern over the workload of the Indian players before the World Cup to be held in England and Wales. Indian skipper Virat Kohli had requested BCCI to schedule the T20 tournament a little earlier so that the players get enough rest before the World Cup. He had made another request to rest the fast bowlers from the IPL. A decision on both requests is yet to come.


Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Ashish Nehra

India vs Australia 2018: Ashish Nehra believes India has the bowling to beat the hosts

Rishabh Pant

I am not here to compete with anyone: Rishabh Pant