IPL 2019: 5 reasons why KKR lost against DC at Kotla

The 10th match of IPL 2019 proved to be a thriller. 40 overs couldn’t separate Delhi Capitals and Kolkata Knight Riders as the match ended in a tie. Both the teams were locked at 185 after their respective 20 overs.

On the back of 62 from Andre Russell and 50 by Dinesh Karthik, KKR scored 185/8. Prithvi Shaw batted brilliantly for his 99 from 55 balls. But the DC batsmen couldn’t finish the job. In the super over, DC batted first and made 10 runs. Then, Kagiso Rabada bowled a scintillating over and gave away just 7 runs to win the match for the hosts.

Here are the 5 reasons why KKR lost the match

#1 Nikhil Naik’s selection

KKR went in with Nikhil Naik to open alongside Chris Lynn. The right-hander had a poor stay in the middle as he struggled to score. He was not able to find the boundaries nor the singles. Naik scored just 7 runs and consumed 16 balls for it.

He showed hardly any intention to strike big. It mounted the pressure on Lynn who attempted to go for the big ones. Naik, after a miserable stay at the crease, departed when Sandeep Lamichhane trapped him in front in the 4th over. Due to his slow innings, the start wasn’t good as KKR could score just 36 runs in the powerplay.

#2 Middle-order failure

Naik’s lackluster efforts put pressure on the batsmen that followed. Robin Uthappa could score just 11 before falling to Harshal Patel. Lynn and Nitish Rana too fell in quick succession. To make things worse, Shubman Gill too got out in the 10th over to a run-out.

The visitors were struggling at 61/5 and there was hardly any momentum until that point. The most disappointing thing about KKR’s top order batting was the shot selection. Some of them played irresponsible strokes that hurt the team badly.

#3 Narine’s absence

KKR went in the game without the services of Sunil Narine as he was out due to an injury. He opens the innings and provides them aggressive starts more often than not. In the last game also, it was his cameo that set the platform.

He was missed during the bowling as well. There was hardly any bowler who posed a threat to the DC batsmen. The attack was one-dimensional as the opposition took full toll of that. KKR would hope that Narine comes back soon as he is an integral part of the team.

#4 Kuldeep being ineffective initially

In the absence of Sunil Narine, the onus was on Kuldeep Yadav to lead the attack. There was an added responsibility on his shoulders, especially for this game. But the DC batsmen made sure the chinaman didn’t find his rhythm as soon as he came into the attack.

Prithvi Shaw and Shreyas realized that Kuldeep was the main threat and they targetted him. His first over went for 13 runs while in the next over, he conceded 20. He came back to remove Rishabh Pant in his 3rd over but that proved to be too late. He delivered the last over when 6 runs were required. He did a good job at the end though to push the game into the super over.

#5 Lackluster fielding

On occasions, KKR’s fielding wasn’t up to the mark. They weren’t as tight as they usually are. Shubman Gill missed a catch of Shreyas Iyer at the deep mid-wicket boundary that went for a four. However, he got a chance a couple of balls later to which he latched on.

DC vs KKR Match Summary

Delhi Capitals won the toss and opted to bowl first

Kolkata Knight Riders: 185/8 in 20 overs

Andre Russell 62 (28), Dinesh Karthik 50 (36)

Harshal Patel 40/2 (4), Sandeep Lamichhane 29/1 (4)

Delhi Capitals: 185/6 in 20 overs

Prithvi Shaw 99 (55), Shreyas Iyer 43 (32)

Kuldeep Yadav 41/2 (4), Andre Russell 28/1 (3)

Match tied (DC won the super over)

Player of the Match: Prithvi Shaw

DC vs KKR Match 10 Full Scorecard of both innings

Kolkata Knight Riders Innings Full Scorecard

Kolkata Knight Riders- 185-8 (20 Overs)

Batsmen R B 4S 6S SR
Nikhil Naik (lbw b Lamichhane) 7 16 1 0 43.75
Chris Lynn (c Pant b Rabada) 20 18 3 0 111.11
Robin Uthappa (lbw b Harshal Patel) 11 6 2 0 183.33
Nitish Rana (c Rabada b Harshal Patel) 1 2 0 0 50
Dinesh Karthik (c & wk) (c Pant b A Mishra) 50 36 5 2 138.89
Shubman Gill (run out (Harshal Patel/Lamichhane)) 4 5 0 0 80
Andre Russell (c (sub)Rahul Tewatia b Chris Morris) 62 28 4 6 221.43
Piyush Chawla (run out (Dhawan/Rabada)) 12 5 1 1 240
Kuldeep Yadav (not out) 10 5 1 0 200

Did not bat:- Lockie Ferguson, Prasidh Krishna

Bowlers O M R W WD NB Econ
Kagiso Rabada 4 0 41 1 1 0 10.25
Sandeep Lamichhane 4 0 29 1 0 0 7.25
Chris Morris 4 0 35 1 1 0 8.75
Harshal Patel 4 0 40 2 1 1 10
Amit Mishra 4 0 36 1 1 0 9

Delhi Capitals Innings Full Scorecard

Delhi Capitals- 185-6 (20 Overs)

Batsmen R B 4S 6S SR
Prithvi Shaw (c Karthik b Lockie Ferguson) 99 55 12 3 180
Shikhar Dhawan (c A Russell b Chawla) 16 8 2 1 200
Shreyas Iyer (c) (c Shubman Gill b A Russell) 43 32 4 2 134.38
Rishabh Pant (wk) (c Chawla b Kuldeep Yadav) 11 15 1 0 73.33
Colin Ingram (run out (Uthappa/Karthik)) 10 7 1 0 142.86
Hanuma Vihari (c Shubman Gill b Kuldeep Yadav) 2 3 0 0 66.67
Harshal Patel (not out) 0 0 0 0 0

Did not bat:- Chris Morris, Sandeep Lamichhane, Kagiso Rabada, Amit Mishra

Bowlers O M R W WD NB Econ
Prasidh Krishna 4 0 33 0 1 0 8.25
Lockie Ferguson 4 0 38 1 2 0 9.5
Piyush Chawla 4 0 36 1 0 0 9
Andre Russell 3 0 28 1 0 0 9.33
Kuldeep Yadav 4 0 41 2 0 0 10.25
Nitish Rana 1 0 8 0 0 0 8



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you