Connect with us

Cricket News

Sri Lanka Announce 15-Man squad for ICC CWC 2019

ICC World Cup 2019 Sri Lanka Team: Sri Lanka squad for World Cup

Sri Lanka’s squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup has sprung a huge surprise. Dimuth Karunaratne has been named as the captain of the side. The left-hander hasn’t played a single ODI since 2015. Earlier, Lasith Malinga was leading the team. But he has been axed and Karunaratne appeared as a shocking selection.

Angelo Mathews returns to the squad while Dinesh Chandimal misses out. There are some other surprising picks with the likes of Lahiru Thirimanne, Jeevan Mendis, Avishka Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay and Milinda Siriwardana being picked in the 15-man provisional squad.

Oshada Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Wanindu Hasaranga and Angelo Perera have been named as the reserve players who will travel with the team for the marquee event in England and Wales. Sri Lanka will start their World Cup campaign against New Zealand on June 1.

Here is the 15-man Sri Lanka Team for World Cup

Dimuth Karunaratne (C),  Lasith Malinga, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Pradeep, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Jeevan Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Lahiru Thirimanne, Isuru Udana, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Jeffrey Vandersay, Milinda Siriwardana

Sri Lankan’s Squad for ICC World cup 2019

Sri Lankan National Cricket Team is all set to play ICC World Cup with 7 Batsmen, 3 All-rounders, 5 Bowlers. Here is the Sri Lankan team Squad for World cup 2019.

Sri Lanka’s CWC 2019 Squad
NameRoleBatting StyleBowling Style
Dimuth KarunaratneBatsmanLeft-handedRight-arm medium
Lasith MalingaBowlerRight-handedRight-arm fast
Thisara PereraAllrounderLeft-handedRight-arm medium
Nuwan PradeepBowlerRight-handedRight-arm fast medium
Angelo MathewsBatsmanRight-handedRight-arm fast medium
Kusal PereraWK-BatsmanLeft-handedLeft-arm medium
Suranga LakmalBowlerRight-handedRight-arm fast medium
Jeevan MendisAllrounderLeft-handedRight-arm leg-break
Dhananjaya de SilvaBatsmanLeft-handedRight-arm off-break
Lahiru ThirimanneBatsmanLeft-handedRight-arm medium
Isuru UdanaBowlerRight-handedLeft-arm fast-medium
Avishka FernandoBatsmanRight-handedRight-arm fast medium
Kusal MendisWK-BatsmanRight-handedRight-arm leg break
Jeffrey VandersayBowlerRight-handedRight-arm leg break
Milinda SiriwardanaAllrounderLeft-handedLeft-arm orthodox

Also Read: Who will win the ODI World Cup 2019? Here are the top 5 contenders

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitterand Instagram

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Test Only Test 10:00 AM 18 July 2019
AUS 3-265(100.0)
ENG 0-0(0)

The County Ground, Taunton


T20 2nd T20 09:30 AM 19 July 2019
AUS 0-0(0)
EWA 0-0(0)

Millfield School


Tour 10:00 AM 23 July 2019
AUS 0-0(0)
AUS 0-0(0)

The Rose Bowl, Southampton


Test Only Test 10:00 AM 24 July 2019
IRE 0-0(0)
ENG 0-0(0)

Lord's, London


T20 Intl 1st T20I 18:15 PM 26 July 2019
AUS 0-0(0)
ENG 0-0(0)

County Ground, Chelmsford


T20 Intl 2nd T20I 13:00 PM 28 July 2019
AUS 0-0(0)
ENG 0-0(0)

The County Ground, Hove


No completed match yet!

Most Viewed

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News