England announce squads for the ODI and T20I series against Windies

Eoin Morgan
Eoin Morgan

England have announced the squads for the upcoming ODI and T20I series against Windies. The ongoing Test series will be followed by 5 ODIs and a solitary T20I. Eoin Morgan will lead the sides of both the formats.

A notable change in the T20I squad is the rest given to the all-rounders Ben Stokes and Moeen Ali who will be replaced by Dawid Malan and Chris Jordan. However, Stokes and Ali will feature in the ODI series.

The only T20I will be played on September 16 and the ODI series will begin on September 19 and will go on until September 29.

Earlier, Windies had also named the squads for the shortest format of the game that included the big guns like Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine and Kieron Pollard. The home side has been in a brilliant form in limited overs cricket and hence, the encounter between the two promises to be a mouth-watering one.

What adds to the flavor of the series is the tight competition that has been on the show in the Test series. Where England dominated the first game, the visitors made a stunning comeback and won the second one. Now the series decider will be played at the Lord’s starting on September 7.

T20I squad:

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex, captain), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Tom Curran (Surrey), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Dawid Malan (Middlesex)Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), David Willey (Yorkshire).

ODI squad:

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex, captain), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Tom Curran (Surrey), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire),  Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), David Willey (Yorkshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)


Only T20I – September 16 at Chester-le-Street

1st ODI – September 19 at Manchester

2nd ODI – September 21 at Nottingham

3rd ODI – September 24 at Bristol

4th ODI – September 27 at Oval, London

5th ODI – September 29 at Southampton

Kane Williamson

Kane Williamson demands more focus on Test cricket

ICC World Cup 2019 Sri Lanka Team: Sri Lanka squad for World Cup

Sri Lanka announce squad for the one-off T20I against India