Bangladesh’s Test squad announced for South Africa’s tour

Bangladesh are scheduled to tour South Africa for 2 Tests, 3 ODIs and 2 T20Is later this month. The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) today has announced the squad for the Test series. Mahmudullah and Rubel Hossain have been recalled to the side for the longest format of the game. Shakib Al Hasan, who has opted for a rest from Test cricket for 6 months, is not a part of the squad.

Nasir Hossain has been dropped as the selectors decided to go with a pace-heavy attack and hence, the fast bowler Subhasis Roy has been included in the 15-men squad. Nasir failed to pick up any wickets in the recently concluded Test series against Australia and so he has been shown the exit.

Bangladesh Test squad for South Africa tour

Mushfiqur Rahim(c)(wk), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Sabbir Rahman, Mamudullah Riyadh, Litton Das, Mehidy Hasan, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Shubhashish Roy, Mominul Haque

A big test for Bangladesh

Bangladesh recently pulled off a stunning performance against Australia at home. They defeated the visitors in the first Test in Dhaka that happened to be the first time in the history that they won against Australia in the longest format of the game. However, the Aussies came back strong to win the second Test in Chittagong but to even enforce a draw against the mighty Aussies was a commendable effort on Bangladesh’s part.

But that series is done and dusted and the focus now shifts to South Africa. It’s not going to be easy for Bangladesh to face the Proteas in their own backyard. The conditions won’t be spin-friendly and the batsmen will have a stiff task of facing the top quality South African pace bowling attack. The series will determine how far the Bangladeshi cricket has traveled.

Fixtures for Bangladesh’s tour of South Africa

Date Match Venue
28-Sep to 02-Oct 1st Test Potchefstroom
06-Oct to 10-Oct 2nd Test Bloemfontein
15-Oct 1st ODI Kimberley
18-Oct 2nd ODI Paarl
22-Oct 3rd ODI East London
26-Oct 1st T20I Bloemfontein
29-Oct  2nd T20I Potchefstroom


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you