Umesh and Shami called back, Ashwin and Jadeja rested for the first 3 Australia ODIs

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the 16-men squad for the first 3 ODIs against Australia to be hosted by India this month. The fast bowlers Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav have been recalled to the ODI side after being rested for the Sri Lankan limited overs series.

Shardul Thakur has been left out of the ODI side who played 2 ODIs in Sri Lanka and bagged just 1 wicket. The spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have been rested once again. Even after having dismal performances, KL Rahul has managed to hold on to his place. The rest of the side is the same that played in the Lankan nation.

The selection committee headed by MSK Prasad has rewarded the bright performances of the 3 young spinners Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel who did well in the neighboring country. They will have another chance to prove their mettle at the big stage and this time, against a far stronger opposition.

The ODI series will begin on September 17 with the first match being played at the MA Chidambaram Stadium Chennai, followed by the next 2 ODIs at Kolkata and Indore respectively. The squad for the remaining 2 ODIs and the T20I series will be announced later.

India’s Squad for the first 3 ODIs against Australia

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami.

Fixtures for Australia’s tour of India

Date Match Venue
12-Sep 1st Warm-up Chennai
17-Sep 1st ODI Chennai
21-Sep 2nd ODI Kolkata
24-Sep 3rd ODI Indore
28-Sep 4th ODI Bengaluru
01-Oct 5th ODI Nagpur
07-Oct 1st T20I Ranchi
10-Oct 2nd T20I Guwahati
13-Oct 3rd T20I Hyderabad



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you