Connect with us

Cricket News

Australia announce ODI and T20I squads for the Indian tour

ICC World Cup 2019: Australia Team Preview, Strengths and Weaknesses
Australia's captain Steve Smith

Australia are set to travel to India to play 5 ODIs and 3 T20Is during September-October. Cricket Australia has announced the squads for both formats that have a lot of different personnel.

While James Faulkner and Nathan Coulter-Nile have been recalled to the ODI side, Josh Hazlewood would feature only in the 50-over format. The pacer Mitchell Starc has been rested for the tour as he is still recovering from an injury and an all-important Ashes series will soon follow.

“Nathan brings raw pace to the side with good variation. It is great to see him back from injury and we are hopeful he will have a big impact in this series,” selector Trevor Hohns, the Chief Selector, said on Coulter-Nile’s inclusion.

“James Faulkner is a solid One-Day campaigner and is very familiar with subcontinent conditions, coming off a very good tour of Sri Lanka last year. We hope that he will take his chance in returning to the one-day side,” he added.

The ODI squad also includes a new entry in the form of Hilton Cartwright who has the backing of the selectors. “Hilton is an aggressive striker of the ball and we think his game will be well suited to the transition to short-form cricket,” Hohns said.

The T20I squad sees the return of Daniel Christian and Tim Paine while pacers Jason Behrendorff and Kane Richardson have also been given a go.

“Jason has been a stand out performer for the Scorchers for a number of seasons and deserves his chance at this level,” T20 selector Mark Waugh said on the selection of Behrendorff.

“Dan is a very experienced all-rounder who can be a very dangerous batsman. He had a solid IPL season this year and we believe his bowling will be well suited to the conditions we will face in India. Tim Paine has been called-up following his successful home T20 International and Big Bash campaigns,” he added.

The schedule for the tour is yet to be announced by the BCCI. As per previous reports, Chennai, Bengaluru, Nagpur, Indore and Kolkata will be hosting a game each of the 5 ODIs and Hyderabad, Ranchi and Guwahati will be the venues for the T20Is.

Australia’s ODI Squad:

Steve Smith (C), David Warner (VC), Ashton Agar, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa

Australia’s T20I Squad:

Steve Smith (C), David Warner (VC), Jason Behrendorff, Dan Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell, Tim Paine, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


No live match currently in Progress!

No Upcoming match yet!

No completed match yet!

T20 Match 1 16:00 PM 20 February 2020
Quetta Gladiators 171/7 (18.3)
Islamabad United 168 (19.1)

Match Ended

Quetta Gladiators beat Islamabad United by 3 wickets

T20 Match 2 10:00 AM 21 February 2020
Karachi Kings 201/4 (20.0)
Peshawar Zalmi 191/7 (20.0)

Match Ended

Karachi Kings beat Peshawar Zalmi by 10 runs

T20 Match 3 15:00 PM 21 February 2020
Lahore Qalandars 138/8 (20.0)
Multan Sultans 142/5 (16.1)

Match Ended

Multan Sultans beat Lahore Qalandars by 5 wickets

T20 Match 4 09:00 AM 22 February 2020
Quetta Gladiators 148/5 (20.0)
Peshawar Zalmi 153/4 (18.3)

Match Ended

Peshawar Zalmi beat Quetta Gladiators by 6 wickets

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News