Connect with us

Cricket News

Andrew Tye to replace Pat Cummins for the T20I series against India

Andrew Tye

Andrew Tye

Cricket Australia has named the replacement for the fast bowler Pat Cummins for the T20I series against India. A like for like replacement will see the pacer Andrew Tye fly to India to take part in the series that will include 3 T20Is.

Cummins is currently a part of the ODI squad in the ongoing series. He is set to travel back after the completion of the ODI series. The board wants him to be fit for the iconic Ashes series that will start in November where Australia will host the arch-rivals England.

The pacer has been in the subcontinent for quite a while now. He first took part in the Test series against Bangladesh and then featured in the ODI series against India. The conditions in both countries have been pretty hot and humid and that’s why the board doesn’t want to take any chances. Cummins will be a vital cog in Australia’s Test side in the Ashes.

Andrew Tye, who is considered a T20 specialist, has a handful of experience of playing in the format. Although he has played just 5 T2oIs for the country, his experience of playing in various T20 leagues will come in handy.

Tye had played for the Aussies in the T20I series against India and Sri Lanka last year. He then went on to represent Gujarat Lions in the Indian Premier League. The 30-year-old had a pleasant outing as he picked up 12 wickets from just 6 matches and ended up being the leading wicket-taker for his franchise. His best figures of 17/5 came against Rising Pune Supergiant which also included a hattrick.

Australia’s T20I squad

Steve Smith (c), David Warner, Jason Behrendorff, Dan Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell, Tim Paine (wk), Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa

Fixtures for the T20I series

1st T20I – October 7 at JSCA International Stadium, Ranchi

2nd T20I – October 10 at Barsapara Stadium, Guwahati

3rd T20I – October 13 at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


No live match currently in Progress!

First-Class 23:30 PM 17 October 2019
TAS 0-0(0)
NSW 0-0(0)

Drummoyne Oval, Drummoyne


First-Class 00:00 AM 18 October 2019
SA 0-0(0)
QLD 0-0(0)

The Gabba, Brisbane


First-Class 02:30 AM 18 October 2019
VIC 0-0(0)
WA 0-0(0)

WACA Ground, Perth


T20 Match 1 08:40 AM 18 October 2019
THU 0-0(0)
SIX 0-0(0)

North Sydney Oval No.1, North Sydney


T20 Match 3 03:00 AM 19 October 2019
HUR 0-0(0)
STA 0-0(0)

CitiPower Centre, St. Kilda


No completed match yet!

Most Viewed

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News