Virat Kohli rested, Rohit Sharma to lead in the Sri Lanka ODIs

Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma
Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the Indian squads for the third and final Test against Sri Lanka as well as the 3 ODIs that follow. The skipper Virat Kohli has been given the much-needed break from the game as he has been playing continuously since the IPL. Rohit Sharma will lead the side in his absence which will be the first time he will captain in international cricket.

He is the vice-captain of India’s limited overs side and has plenty of captaincy experience with IPL franchise Mumbai Indians and thus, it will be a chance for him to showcase his leadership skills at the biggest stage.

Siddharth Kaul, the Sunrisers Hyderabad pacer, has earned his maiden call-up for the ODI squad. Shreyas Iyer, who was a part of the T20I squad that faced New Zealand, has been included in the ODI side.

The remainder of the squad is the same that played against New Zealand. The selectors continue their faith in the spinners Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel. Dinesh Karthik hangs on to his place while KL Rahul couldn’t get an entry.

India and Sri Lanka are currently engaged in the Test series where the hosts have taken a 1-0 lead by winning the second Test in Nagpur. Shikhar Dhawan, who had opted out of the 2nd Test due to personal reasons, has made a return to the squad while Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who recently got married, keeps himself unavailable.

Indian squad for the 3rd Test against Sri Lanka:

Virat Kohli (C), Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Vijay Shankar

Indian team for the Sri Lanka ODIs:

Rohit Sharma (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddharth Kaul

Ashes 1st Test

Ashes 1st Test: Australia take first step towards regaining the urn

Stats: Ravichandran Ashwin becomes fastest to 300 Test wickets