Connect with us

Cricket News

Virat Kohli receives the Khel Ratna award from the President of India

Virat Kohli receiving Khel Ratna award
Virat Kohli receiving Khel Ratna award (Image Source: Twitter)

Indian captain Virat Kohli has been awarded with the highest sporting honor of India – Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. The ceremony was held today at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi where the President of India – Shri Ramnath Kovind honored him with the award. Virat was accompanied by his wife Anushka Sharma, mother Saroj Kohli and elder brother Vikas at the ceremony.

The 29-year-old becomes the first cricketer to be conferred the award since 2007. India’s former captain MS Dhoni was the last cricketer to receive the prestigious award. Virat is now the 3rd cricketer to receive the Khel Ratna as apart from him and Dhoni, the legendary Sachin Tendulkar had received that in 1998.

In the ceremony, along with Virat, Indian wrestler Mirabai Chanu was also honored with the Khel Ratna. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had been nominating Virat for the award since 2016 and finally, the cricketer became the awardee. In 2016, wrestler Sakshi Malik, shuttler PV Sindhu and gymnast Deepa Karmakar were the winners. While in 2017, it went to the hockey player Sardar Singh and para-athlete Devendra Jhajharia.

Apart from Khel Ratna, the Arjuna Awards and the Dhyan Chand awards were also presented. Tarak Singh, the childhood coach of Rishabh Pant, Ashish Nehra, Shikhar Dhawan won the Dhyan Chand Award among 8 other winners. Indian women’s’ leading cricketer Smriti Mandhana was among the 20 athletes to win the Arjuna Award.

It was announced a few days back that Virat Kohli will be one of the winners this time for the Khel Ratna. The Twitter handle of the President of India tweeted and congratulated Virat for the honor. The Indian skipper also responded and mentioned that he was humbled to receive the prestigious award from the Honorable President.


Virat Kohli’s response


Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


No live match currently in Progress!

1st T20I 17:30 PM 03 July 2020

Emirates Riverside


2nd T20I 16:00 PM 05 July 2020

Emirates Old Trafford


3rd T20I 17:30 PM 07 July 2020

Emerald Headingley


1st ODI 12:00 PM 11 July 2020



2nd ODI 12:00 PM 14 July 2020

The Ageas Bowl


No completed match yet!

T20 Match 1 16:00 PM 20 February 2020
Quetta Gladiators 171/7 (18.3)
Islamabad United 168 (19.1)

Match Ended

Quetta Gladiators beat Islamabad United by 3 wickets

T20 Match 2 10:00 AM 21 February 2020
Karachi Kings 201/4 (20.0)
Peshawar Zalmi 191/7 (20.0)

Match Ended

Karachi Kings beat Peshawar Zalmi by 10 runs

T20 Match 3 15:00 PM 21 February 2020
Lahore Qalandars 138/8 (20.0)
Multan Sultans 142/5 (16.1)

Match Ended

Multan Sultans beat Lahore Qalandars by 5 wickets

T20 Match 4 09:00 AM 22 February 2020
Quetta Gladiators 148/5 (20.0)
Peshawar Zalmi 153/4 (18.3)

Match Ended

Peshawar Zalmi beat Quetta Gladiators by 6 wickets

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News