Connect with us


Virat Kohli creates a record despite getting out on a duck

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli

In what was a pretty rare sight in the 2nd T20I between India and Australia in Guwahati, Indian skipper Virat Kohli got out on a duck. He was dismissed in the very first over of the innings when Jason Beherendoff, playing his 2nd T20I, took his catch off his own bowling. It was just the 2nd ball that Kohli faced and had to walk back pretty early in the innings.

Even though he went back without scoring, the 28-year-old went on to register another record. It was his 47th innings in T20Is and the first time he scored a duck. He ended up creating the record for the most number of consecutive innings before getting out on a duck in the format.

He surpassed Pakistan’s Shoaib Malik who earlier held the pole position with 40 innings. Apart from Virat Kohli, another Indian to be in the list is Yuvraj Singh who had bagged his first duck in T20Is in his 39th inning.

Most number of innings before the first duck in T20Is:

Virat KohliIndia47
Shoaib MalikPakistan40
Yuvraj SinghIndia39
Samiullah ShenwariAfghanistan38
Eoin MorganEngland35
Brendon McCullumNew Zealand33
Graeme SmithSouth Africa31


Kohli may not hold onto the record for long as there are 4 active players who have played more innings than him without scoring a duck. Marlon Samuels of Windies is at the top with 58 innings while Angelo Mathews, Hamilton Masakadza and David Miller are also in line to break Kohli’s record.

Most number of innings without a duck in T20Is:

Marlon SamuelsWindies58
Angelo MathewsSri Lanka55
Hamilton MasakadzaZimbabwe50
David MillerSouth Africa/World XI47
Dinesh ChandimalSri Lanka42

– Stats as of October 10, 2017

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

First-Class 23:30 PM 10 November 2019
WA 0-19(10.3)
NSW 8d-444(152.0)

SCG, Sydney


First-Class 00:00 AM 11 November 2019
TAS 2-87(31.2)
SA 6d-490(124.0)

Adelaide Oval, Adelaide


First-Class 23:30 PM 11 November 2019
QLD 7-153(66.0)
VIC 0-0(0)

MCG, Melbourne


T20 Tour Match 05:00 AM 11 November 2019
PAK 5-344(94.0)
AUS 0-0(0)

Perth Stadium, Perth


T20 Match 30 09:30 AM 12 November 2019
THU 0-0(0)
SCO 0-0(0)

WACA Ground, Perth


T20 Match 31 00:00 AM 13 November 2019
SIX 0-0(0)
HUR 0-0(0)

Invermay Park, Launceston


T20 Match 32 03:00 AM 13 November 2019
HEA 0-0(0)
STA 0-0(0)

CitiPower Centre, St. Kilda


Test 1st Test 04:00 AM 14 November 2019
BAN 0-0(0)
IND 0-0(0)

Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore


T20 Intl 1st T20I 13:30 PM 14 November 2019
WI 0-0(0)
AFG 0-0(0)

Ekana International Cricket Stadium, Lucknow


No completed match yet!

Most Viewed

Like us at Blogadda

More in Stats