Virat Kohli bags top honors in ICC Awards for 2018

Virat Kohli bag top honors in ICC Awards for 2018
Virat Kohli

Indian captain Virat Kohli has swept away all the 3 massive honors in ICC Awards for 2018 and became the first player to achieve the feat. He won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year, the ICC Men’s Test Player of the Year and the ICC ODI Player of the Year. Additionally, the 30-year-old has been named the captain of both ICC Test Team and the ODI Team of 2018.

Kohli had a magnificent 2018 as he amassed 1322 runs in 13 Tests, 1202 runs in 14 ODIs and 211 runs in T20Is. He was elated to win all the big prizes in ICC Awards. He mentioned that it was a proud moment for him that will motivate him to keep the good run going.

“It feels amazing. It’s a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the calendar year. I feel really grateful and very, very happy with the team doing well at the same time myself performing. Having recognition at the global level from the ICC is something you feel proud of as a cricketer because you understand that there are many players playing the game,” he said.

“To be rewarded in this manner from amongst all of them is obviously a very proud moment for me and something that gives you more motivation to keep repeating the same things because you have to keep the standard of cricket up and keep bringing in consistent performances. From that point of view, these awards give you that extra motivation,”added Kohli.

India’s Rishabh Pant won the Emerging Player of the Year award while Kiwi skipper Kane Williamson bagged the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award. Rishabh found a place in the ICC Test Team of 2018. Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah were included in both Test and ODI XIs.

ICC Awards for 2018

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli (India)

ICC Men’s Test Player of the Year: Virat Kohli (India)

ICC ODI Player of the Year: Virat Kohli (India)

ICC Emerging Player of the Year: Rishabh Pant (India)

ICC Associate Player of the Year: Calum MacLeod (Scotland)

T20I Performance of the Year: Aaron Finch (Australia) for his knock of 172 against Zimbabwe in Harare

ICC Spirit of Cricket award: Kane Williamson (New Zealand)

Umpire of the Year: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka)

ICC Test Team of 2018

Tom Latham (New Zealand), Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Virat Kohli (India) (c), Henry Nicholls (New Zealand), Rishabh Pant (India) (wk), Jason Holder (Windies), Kagiso Rabada (South Africa), Nathan Lyon (Australia), Jasprit Bumrah (India), Mohammad Abbas (Pakistan).

ICC ODI Team of 2018

Rohit Sharma (India), Jonny Bairstow (England), Virat Kohli (India) (c), Joe Root (England), Ross Taylor (New Zealand), Jos Buttler (England) (wk), Ben Stokes (England), Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Kuldeep Yadav (India), Jasprit Bumrah (India).


Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Live Cricket Score, South Africa vs Pakistan, 2nd ODI live updates

Krunal Pandya

Krunal Pandya offers a blank cheque for the treatment of Jacob Martin