Twitter Reaction: Pacers, Rohit and Kohli drive India to series clinching victory

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli

After dominating in the first 2 ODIs, the scenario didn’t change much in the 3rd as India defeated New Zealand to make it 3-0. With 2 more games to go, Virat Kohli and his men now have an unassailable lead. First, the bowlers and then, the batsmen delivered and the Men in Blue didn’t offer even a sniff to the opposition.

This time, it was the Kiwi captain Kane Williamson who won the toss. The hosts batted first and once again, the Indian pacers troubled the top-order. Mohammed Shami removed Colin Munro while Bhuvneshwar Kumar sent back Martin Guptill. Yuzvendra Chahal bagged the important wicket of Williamson to make it 59/3 in the 17th over.

Ross Taylor and Tom Latham came together and rebuilt the innings. A partnership of 119 runs brought the Kiwis back on track. But when Chahal dismissed Munro, it began a collapse. Wickets fell at regular intervals and the hosts fell short of a big score. Taylor missed out on a century as Shami removed him for 93. New Zealand was bowled out for 243 in 49 overs.

The Indian openers were at it again. Shikhar Dhawan came out with an aggressive mindset and struck some attractive strokes. But Trent Boult ended his stay for 28. Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli then ensured that the opposition didn’t get any more chances. They shared a stand of 113 runs and blew New Zealand out of the game.

Rohit scored 62 while Kohli made 60. With 76 runs required to win, Ambati Rayudu and Dinesh Karthik came together and got the much-needed game time. They took India past the line comfortably. With 7 overs to spare and 7 wickets in hand, India cruised to victory.

Match Summary

New Zealand won the toss and opted to bat first

New Zealand: 243/10 in 49 overs

Ross Taylor 93 (106), Tom Latham 51 (64)

Mohammed Shami 41/3 (9), Hardik Pandya 45/2 (10)

India: 245/3 in 43 overs

Rohit Sharma 62 (77), Virat Kohli 60 (74)

Trent Boult 40/2 (10), Mitchell Santner 45/1 (10)

India won by 7 wickets

Player of the Match: Mohammed Shami

Here’s how Twitter reacted to India’s victory


Also Read: Who will win the ODI World Cup 2019? Here are the top 5 contenders

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadiumon FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Sarfaraz Ahmed will be Pakistan's captain for World Cup 2019

ICC suspends Sarfaraz Ahmed for 4 matches for racial comments

Ambati Rayudu

ICC suspends Ambati Rayudu from bowling in international cricket