Top Contenders for Player of the Tournament Revealed in ICC World Cup 2023

In the ongoing ICC World Cup 2023, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the nine nominees for the prestigious Player of the Tournament award. The list includes four Indian players, two Australians, two from New Zealand, and one representing South Africa, showcasing the diverse talent on display in this edition of the World Cup.

The nominees are as follows:

1. Virat Kohli (India): Kohli has been a standout performer, surpassing 700 tournament runs. He showcased remarkable consistency, including a record-breaking century in Mumbai and a crucial knock in the semi-final against New Zealand.

2. Adam Zampa (Australia): Zampa, a key figure in Australia’s T20 World Cup 2021 triumph, has continued to shine with 22 wickets in the World Cup. He answered his critics with impressive performances, including three four-wicket hauls.

3. Quinton de Kock (South Africa): De Kock emerged as one of the leading run-scorers, amassing 594 runs. His aggressive batting style, including a century against Australia, contributed significantly to South Africa’s performances.

4. Mohammed Shami (India): Shami has been unplayable at times, picking up 23 wickets in the tournament. His impactful spells, particularly against New Zealand, England, and Sri Lanka, have made him a potent force.

5. Rachin Ravindra (New Zealand): The young New Zealand player showcased his all-round skills with 578 runs and five wickets. His unbeaten 123 against England was a standout performance.

6. Glenn Maxwell (Australia): Maxwell’s all-round brilliance was evident with 398 runs and five wickets. His exceptional centuries against The Netherlands and Afghanistan displayed his match-winning capabilities.

7. Rohit Sharma (India): The Indian captain has been in stellar form, accumulating 550 runs with one century and three half-centuries. His impactful performances during the Powerplay have been crucial.

8. Jasprit Bumrah (India): Bumrah’s lethal combination of speed and movement has earned him 18 wickets in the tournament. His ability to stifle oppositions in the Powerplay has been instrumental for India.

9. Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand): Mitchell showcased consistency, scoring 552 runs. His highlight was a superb 134 against India in the semi-final, where he played a pivotal role in the run chase.

The ICC Player of the Tournament will be a highly contested title, with these exceptional players leaving an indelible mark on the World Cup 2023. The final showdown on November 19 between India and Australia will add more drama to this cricketing spectacle.

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you