Team India Squad Arrives In South Africa For The Multi-Format Series

Ahead of a multi-format series between India and South Africa, Team India squad has landed in South Africa this morning. The team departed for South Africa yesterday and landed now to give force to the upcoming series which is one month long. The series can be considered as practice for both the teams for the upcoming T20 World Cup next year, i.e 2024.

The series which is to be played in three formats will include a 3-match T20I series first, followed by a 3-match ODI series and then finally conclude with a two-match Test Series. The tour is almost a month long, set to be commenced from December 10 to January 7. Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, who will skip the white ball series will return for the red-ball series in late December in which Rohit Sharma will likely lead the team from the front. The T20I series which is to be held at first will be led by Suryakumar Yadav in the absence of Hardik Pandya who has not yet recovered from an ankle injury. The ODI series will be led by batsman and wicket keeper KL Rahul. 

The three batches

The Board of Cricket Control for India notified about team India’s arrival this morning in a Tweet on their official Twitter handle. In the tweet, several players could be spotted at the airport in South Africa and being warmly greeted by the hotel staff members, with BCCI captioning the video “South Africa bound, #TeamIndia are here. #SAvsIND”

However, not all of the squad for the three series has landed in the rainbow nation. Only the first batch who will play the T20I series had landed as the T20I series will be commenced first this month, starting from December 10. It will follow up with the arrival of the second batch for the ODI series and then finally the third batch for the 2-match Test Series. 

Including young talents

This time the BCCI has decided to include young and emerging talents in the T20I squad which will be led by Suryakumar Yadav. The likes of Yashavi Jaiswal, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Arshdeep Singh, Ishan Kishan, Mohammed Siraj, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Tilak Varma will play the T20I series against South Africa. Team India will be coached by Rahul Dravid till the 2024 T20 World Cup. 

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you