T20 Global League: Final squads after the auction drafts

The first ever edition of the T20 Global League, organized by Cricket South Africa will take place this year in the month of November. The auction draft was carried out on Sunday that witnessed 32 international players and 96 local players picked up by the 8 participating franchises.

Each of the franchises has been assigned a marquee player and a home ground. South African all-rounder Chris Morris was the first one to be picked in the day who went to Durban Qalandars. Dale Steyn, who will be making a return to the cricket after recovering from the shoulder injury, was grabbed by Cape Town Knight Riders.

The league promises to be a cracker as it includes some of the biggest names in T20 cricket. CSA has been trying to make this event as big as possible. The cricketing fraternity would be waiting for the action to start to witness the shortest format of the game with the franchise system for the first time in the rainbow nation.

Here are the final 8 squads of T20 Global League 2017

Benoni Zalmi

Team Owner: Javed Afridi

Home ground: Willowmoore Park

Head Coach: Graeme Smith

Marquee South Africa player: Quinton de Kock

Marquee international: Jason Roy (ENG)

Squad: Albie Morkel, Wahab Riaz (PAK), Umar Akmal (PAK), Lungi Ngidi, David Wiese, Eddie Leie, Pite van Biljon, Leus du Plooy, Dillon du Preez, Dean Elgar, Mohammad Nawaz (PAK), George Linde, Rivaldo Moonsamy, Calvin Savage, Carmi le Roux, Tshepo Moreki.

Bloem City Blazers

Team Owner: Sushil Kumar

Home ground: Mangaung Oval

Head Coach: Phil Simmons

Marquee South Africa player: David Miller

Marquee international: Kieron Pollard (WI)

Squad: Dane Paterson, Chris Jordan (ENG), Dwayne Smith (WI), Shaun von Berg, Aaron Phangiso, Morne van Wyk, Beuran Hendricks, Theunis de Bruyn, Janneman Malan, Ryan Ten Doeschate (NED), Clyde Fortuin, Rayad Emrit, Werner Coetsee, Yaseen Vallie, Akhona Mnyaka, Keegan Petersen.

Cape Town Knight Riders

Team Owner: Shah Rukh Khan

Home ground: Newlands

Head Coach: Jacques Kallis

Marquee South Africa player: JP Duminy

Marquee international: Chris Gayle (WI)

Squad: Dale Steyn, Adil Rashid (ENG), Tom Curran (ENG), Rassie van der Dussen, James Vince (ENG), Dwaine Pretorius, Jason Smith, Rudi Second, Rory Kleinveldt, Malusi Siboto, Dinesh Ramdin (WI), Thomas Kaber, Senuran Muthusamy, Dayyaan Galiem, Pieter Malan, Aviwe Mgijima.

Durban Qalandar

Team Owner: Fawad Rana

Home ground: Kingsmead

Head Coach: Paddy Upton

Marquee South Africa player: Hashim Amla

Marquee international: Eoin Morgan (ENG)

Squad: Chris Morris, Sam Billings (ENG), Mitch McClenaghan (NZ), Bjorn Fortuin, Mohammad Hafeez (PAK), Fakhar Zaman (PAK), Junior Dala, Qaasim Adams, Migael Pretorius, Nicky van den Bergh, Prenalan Subrayen, Kelly Smuts, Marques Ackerman, Daryn Dupavillon, Mtokozisi Shezi, Cody Chetty.

Joburg Giants

Team Owner: GMR Group

Home ground: Wanderers

Head Coach: S Sriram

Marquee South Africa player: Kagiso Rabada

Marquee international: Brendon McCullum (NZ)

Squad: Colin Ingram, Vernon Philander, Andile Phehlukwayo, Chris Jonker, Temba Bavuma, Patrick Kruger, Yasir Shah (PAK), Nicolas Pooran, Duanne Olivier, Jonathan Vandiar, Roelof van dr Merwe, Andries Gous, Rabian Engelbrecht, Dane Piedt, Andre Malan, Zubayr Hamza.

Nelson Mandela Bay Stars

Team Owner: Ajay Sethi

Home ground: St. George’s Park

Head Coach: Mark Boucher

Marquee South Africa player: Imran Tahir

Marquee international: Kevin Pietersen (ENG)

Squad: JJ Smuts, Aiden Markram, Anwar Ali (PAK), Heinrich Klaasen, Junaid Khan (PAK), Dawid Malan (ENG), Sisanda Magala, Heino Kuhn, Andrew Birch, Colin Ackermann, Shadley van Schalkwyk, Sibonelo Makhanya, Wihan Lubbe, Grant Thomson, Lesiba Ngoepe, Ryan Rickelton.

Pretoria Mavericks

Team Owner: Osman Osman

Home ground: SuperSport Park

Head Coach: Russell Domingo

Marquee South Africa player: AB de Villiers

Marquee international: Dwayne Bravo (WI)

Squad: Morne Morkel, Farhaan Behardien, Dane Vilas, Robbie Frylinck, Keshav Maharaj, Johan Botha, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Steven Finn (ENG), Reeza Hendricks, Diego Rosier, Khaya Zondo, Eldred Hawken, Basheeru Walters, Stephan Myburgh (NED), Tony de Zorsi, Kyle Nipper.

Stellenbosch Monarchs

Team Owner: Cricket South Africa

Home ground: Boland Park

Head Coach: Stephen Fleming

Marquee South Africa player: Faf du Plessis

Marquee international: Lasith Malinga (SRI)

Squad: Alex Hales (ENG), Tabraiz Shamsi, Wayne Parnell, Imad Wasim (PAK), Henry Davids, Mangaliso Mosehle, Wiaan Mulder, Justin Ontong, Ryan McLaren, Brendan Taylor (ZIM), Lizaad Williams, Jeewan Mendis (SRI), Rowan Richards, Craig Alexander, Grant Mokoena, Kyle Simmonds.

What do you think?

Written by Cricadium Staff


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Virender Sehwag

Hope Dhoni plays till the 2019 World Cup: Virender Sehwag

MS Dhoni

Twitter reacts as MS Dhoni took a nap on the cricket field