Stats: MS Dhoni joins the 400 ODI dismissals club as a wicketkeeper

While the Indian cricket team is on a rampage in the Rainbow Nation after winning 3 consecutive ODIs to gain an unassailable lead, the wicketkeeper and former captain MS Dhoni has also achieved a special milestone. He has become the first Indian wicketkeeper to inflict 400 dismissals in ODI cricket.

In the 3rd ODI against South Africa in Newlands, Cape Town, Dhoni entered the 400 club as he got the opposition skipper Aiden Markram out stumped off the bowling of Kuldeep Yadav. Later in the innings, he went on to grab the catch of David Miller too that took his tally to 401 dismissals in ODIs.

In the history of ODI cricket, prior to MS Dhoni, there have been only 3 wicketkeepers who have inflicted more than 400 dismissals. Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara is the all-time leader with 482 dismissals, followed by Australia’s Adam Gilchrist with 472 and South Africa’s Mark Boucher with 424.

Dhoni is known to be a master of stumpings as he takes just a fraction of a second to remove the bails. This aspect of his game is also proven by the stats as he has accounted for 106 stumpings which are the most by any wicketkeeper. With a fair amount of cricket left in the 36-year-old and the rate at which he is going, he might climb the ladder even further.

Most dismissals by wicketkeepers in ODI cricket

Player Country Innings Dismissals Catches Stumpings
Kumar Sangakkara Sri Lanka 353 482 383 99
Adam Gilchrist Australia 281 472 417 55
Mark Boucher South Africa 290 424 402 22
MS Dhoni India 310 401 295 106
Moin Khan Pakistan 209 287 214 73
Brendon McCullum New Zealand 183 242 227 15
Ian Healy Australia 168 233 194 39
Rashid Latif Pakistan 164 220 182 38
Romesh Kaluwitharna Sri Lanka 185 206 131 75
Jeff Dujon Windies 166 204 183 21


Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you