Connect with us

Cricket News

Shikhar Dhawan quits SRH, to play for DD in IPL 2019

Shikhar Dhawan
Shikhar Dhawan

India’s flamboyant opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan has left Sunrisers Hyderabad and will become a part of Delhi Daredevils’ squad from IPL 2019. The left-hander was apparently unhappy with the price he was bought at in the last year’s auction.

SRH had retained Kane Williamson and Bhuvneshwar Kumar before the auction and then retained Shikhar Dhawan using the RTM card for a bid of INR 5.2 crores. Dhawan has been traded to DD in exchange for 3 players. SRH will get Shahbaz Nadeem, Abhishek Sharma and Vijay Shankar in exchange for Dhawan.

He had played for Daredevils in 2008 which was the inaugural edition of the IPL. He was picked by Mumbai Indians in the next season post which he has been an integral part of the SRH squad.

The Daredevils welcomed the opener with a tweet that read, “Brace yourselves, for he has returned, where it all began. Welcome Home, Shikhar Dhawan.”

On the other hand, SRH also released a statement on Twitter where they confirmed the release of the 32-year-old citing financial reasons.

“It is with a heavy heart that we announce, that one of our long standing players, Shikhar Dhawan, will be moving to another franchise in 2019. The SunRisers were delighted to pick Shikhar up in the auction after using one of its RTM (right to match) cards earlier in the year. Unfortunately, it has become apparent that the player has been unsettled ever since with the amount he was bought for in the auction, which unfortunately we cannot rectify due to IPL rules.

The franchise has made the decision to trade Shikhar as they feel it is best for both parties. SunRisers value the great contribution that Shikhar has made over the years, and saddened that due to financial reasons, he feels it’s time to move on. We wish him and his family all the best,” the SRH statement read.


Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


No live match currently in Progress!

T20 Match 40 14:30 PM 22 April 2019
DEL 0-0(0)
RAJ 0-0(0)

Sawai Mansingh Stadium


T20 Match 41 14:30 PM 23 April 2019
SUN 0-0(0)
CSK 0-0(0)

MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai


T20 Match 42 14:30 PM 24 April 2019
KXI 0-0(0)
RCB 0-0(0)

M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru


T20 Match 43 14:30 PM 25 April 2019
RAJ 0-0(0)
KKR 0-0(0)

Eden Gardens, Kolkata


T20 Match 44 14:30 PM 26 April 2019
MI 0-0(0)
CSK 0-0(0)

MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai


No completed match yet!

Most Viewed

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News