Connect with us

Cricket News

Ross Taylor goes past Stephen Fleming to become New Zealand’s leading run-getter in ODIs

Ross Taylor
Ross Taylor

Ross Taylor and his love for the University Oval, Dunedin continued as the Kiwi batsman achieved another milestone at the venue. This time, it was the biggest achievement of his career so far. In the 3rd ODI between New Zealand and Bangladesh, Taylor became the leading run-getter for New Zealand in ODI cricket.

The right-hander toppled former Kiwi captain Stephen Fleming to occupy the pole position. Fleming had 8007 to his name from 280 ODIs. Taylor overtook Fleming in his knock of 69. Before the match, Taylor was 50* runs behind at the 2nd spot. As he scored his 51st run in the first innings, it was a special moment of becoming the highest run-getter for the country in the format.

The astonishing fact about Taylor’s career is that he has taken just 203 innings to reach there. Fleming had scored those runs in 269 ODI innings. With this achievement, the 34-year-old has strengthened his claim for being the best ODI player ever from New Zealand. Among the current active players, Martin Guptill and Kane Williamson are in the top 10 run-getters. Guptill is at No. 4 while Williamson occupies the 6th spot.

Most runs for New Zealand in ODI cricket

PlayerRunsMatchesInningsAverageStrike Rate
Ross Taylor802121820348.3283.32
Stephen Fleming800728026932.4271.49
Nathan Astle709022321734.9372.64
Martin Guptill644016916643.2287.45
Brendon McCullum608326022830.4196.37
Kane Williamson555413913345.9182.63
Chris Cairns488121519329.4684.27
Craig McMillan470719718328.1975.94
Martin Crowe470414314038.2472.64
Scott Styris448318816132.4979.42

-Stats as of February 20, 2019


Also Read: Who will win the ODI World Cup 2019? Here are the top 5 contenders

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


No live match currently in Progress!

ODI 09:30 AM 26 May 2019
BAN 0-0(0)
PAK 0-0(0)

Sophia Gardens, Cardiff


ODI 09:30 AM 26 May 2019
WI 0-0(0)
SA 0-0(0)

Bristol County Ground, Bristol


ODI 09:30 AM 27 May 2019
SL 0-0(0)
AUS 0-0(0)

The Rose Bowl, Southampton


ODI 09:30 AM 27 May 2019
AFG 0-0(0)
ENG 0-0(0)

The Oval, London


ODI 09:30 AM 28 May 2019
IND 0-0(0)
BAN 0-0(0)

Sophia Gardens, Cardiff


No completed match yet!

Most Viewed

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News