Records galore as Rohit Sharma equals the fastest T20I century

Rohit Sharma was in the limelight just 10 days back for hitting his 3rd double century in ODI cricket and yet again he has forced everyone to turn their attention towards him. His love for the Sri Lankan bowling just doesn’t seem to end as he smashed a century in the 2nd T20I in Indore off just 35 balls and equaled David Miller’s record of the fastest hundred in the shortest format of the game.

The Hitman was on a role from the outset and unleashed his big hits on the opposition bowlers. The ball kept sailing over the boundary ropes and the capacity crowd in the Holkar Stadium was entertained to the fullest. After reaching his half-century off 23 balls in the 9th over, he went into top gear and went ballistic. In the next 13 balls, he brought up the 3 figure mark in 12th over.

He ended up scoring 118 off 43 balls that included 12 fours and 10 sixes. His opening partner KL Rahul too took a leaf out of Rohit’s book and struck some lusty blows. He made 89 runs off 49 balls with 5 fours and 8 sixes but narrowly missed on a hundred.

Due to the magnificent striking, India posted a mammoth total of 260/5 which turned out to be the joint second highest score in the format. Team India struck 21 sixes in the inning which became the joint best alongside Windies. Sri Lanka, in reply, bundled out for 172 and handed India a victory by 88 runs and an unassailable 2-0 lead in the 3-match series.

Rohit Sharma’s 118 became the highest score by an India in T20Is and also the fastest century by an Indian in professional T20 cricket as he went past Yusuf Pathan’s 37-ball hundred in the IPL. He became the only captain to hit 10 sixes in a T20I inning and has reached a total of 64 sixes this year across all formats, which is the most by any player in a year.

Fastest Centuries in T20 Internationals

Player Team Balls Taken Versus Ground Year
David Miller South Africa 35 Bangladesh Potchefstroom 2017
Rohit Sharma India 35 Sri Lanka Indore 2017
Richard Levi South Africa 45 New Zealand Hamilton 2012
Faf du Plessis South Africa 46 Windies Johannesburg 2015
KL Rahul India 46 Windies Lauderhill 2016
Aaron Finch Australia 47 England Southampton 2013
Chris Gayle Windies 47 England Mumbai 2016
Evin Lewis Windies 48 India Lauderhill 2016
Glenn Maxwell Australia 49 Sri Lanka Pallekele 2016
Chris Gayle Windies 50 South Africa Johannesburg 2007


Highest Scores in T20 Internationals

Team Score Versus Ground Year
Australia 263/3 Sri Lanka Pallekele 2016
Sri Lanka 260/6 Kenya Johannesburg 2007
India 260/5 Sri Lanka Indore 2017
Australia 248/6 England Southampton 2013
Windies 245/6 India Lauderhill 2016
India 244/4 Windies Lauderhill 2016
South Africa 241/6 England Centurion 2009
Windies 236/6 South Africa Johannesburg 2015
Afghanistan 233/8 Ireland Greater Noida 2017
South Africa 231/7 Windies Johannesburg 2015


Most Sixes in a T20I Inning

Team Score Sixes Versus Ground Year
Windies 245/6 21 India Lauderhill 2016
India 260/5 21 Sri Lanka Indore 2017
Netherlands 193/4 19 Ireland Sylhet 2014
Australia 248/6 18 England Southampton 2013
South Africa 241/6 17 England Centurion 2009
Afghanistan 210/5 17 Scotland Edinburgh 2015
Australia 184/5 16 India Bridgetown 2010
Afghanistan 233/8 16 Ireland Greater Noida 2017
England 214/7 15 New Zealand Auckland 2013

-Stats as of December 22, 2017


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you