Purple Cap Holder of IPL 2023: Updated After RCB vs CSK Match 24

In a high-scoring game at the Chinnaswamy, Chennai Super Kings defeated hosts Royal Challengers Bangalore by just 8 runs. The game was perfectly balanced for the most part, but CSK bowlers made a great comeback in the last 4-5 overs to clench victory from the jaws of defeat. However, after today’s game, a few significant changes have happened in the Purple Cap list. 

Tushar Deshpande continues picking wickets

Tushar Deshpande has been pretty impressive for the Chennai Super Kings this season. He has been the team’s highest wicket-taker, having picked 10 wickets in 5 games. The only problem with him has been his economy. The right-arm pacer has bowled 18.2 overs this season and has given away 209 runs at an economy rate of 11.40. Despite that, CSK’s captain MS Dhoni has backed him up because of his wicket-taking ability.  

He picked up 3 wickets in today’s game as well but also leaked 45 runs in 4 overs. However, it did not matter in the end as CSK eventually ended up winning the game. Deshpande has moved up to the 5th spot in the Purple Cap list. 

Siraj economical in a high-scoring game

In a game that saw 444 runs being scored in 40 overs, Mohammed Siraj emerged as the most economical bowler. In his spell of 4 overs, he gave away just 30 runs at an economy rate of 7.50. He also picked up the important wicket of CSK’s opener Ruturaj Gaikwad to give RCB a good start. Siraj has moved up one place in the Purple Cap list. He is now the 6th highest wicket-taker this season with 8 wickets in 5 games and is also currently RCB’s most successful bowler. 

Purple Cap list after RCB vs CSK Match 24:

RankBowler NameTeamMatches PlayedWicketsBest BowlingEconomy
1.Yuzvendra ChahalRajasthan Royals5114/177.85
2.Mark WoodLucknow Super Giants4115/148.12
3.Rashid KhanGujarat Titans5113/318.30
4. Mohammed ShamiGujarat Titans5103/258.35
5.Tushar DeshpandeChennai Super Kings 5103/4511.40
6.Mohammed SirajRoyal Challengers Bangalore583/227.00
7. Ravi BishnoiLucknow Super Giants583/287.13
8.Arshdeep SinghPunjab Kings 583/198.29
9.Varun ChakravarthyKolkata Knight Riders574/158.32
10.Alzarri JosephGujarat Titans572/278.84

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you