Purple Cap Holder of IPL 2023: Updated After MI vs RCB Match 54

The latest match between Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore at Wankhede was a high-scoring affair, with both teams posting mammoth totals on the board. As a result, there were no changes in the Purple Cap list. 

Chawla and Siraj wicketless

Piyush Chawla and Mohammed Siraj were the two bowlers from the Purple Cap list (top 10), who were participating in tonight’s game. However, both bowlers had terrible outings as they went wicketless and were also smashed by the batters. For the first time this season, Piyush Chawla gave away 40-plus runs in his spell and went wicketless. In his 4 overs, Chawla was smashed for 41 runs. 

On the other hand, Mohammed Siraj’s outing was also on similar lines. The right-arm pacer bowled just 3 overs and gave away 31 runs, failing to pick up any wickets. Siraj was smashed for 2 fours and 3 sixes in his spell while Chawla was smashed for 5 fours and 2 sixes. Despite that, both bowlers have been able to hold off their positions in the Purple Cap race. While Chawla is in the 4th place with 17 wickets, Siraj is in the 9th place with 15 wickets. 

Suryakumar and Nehal Wadhera put up a run fest

Despite the lack of wickets, the match was a thrilling spectacle for fans, with some of the best T20 batsmen in the world putting on a show. Suryakumar Yadav and Nehal Wadhera’s sensational partnership for Mumbai Indians was a highlight of the match, with the duo scoring at a run rate of over 13 an over and taking the game away from Royal Challengers Bangalore.

While the bowlers may have struggled on the night, the IPL is a long tournament, and there is still plenty of time for the leading wicket-takers to make their mark. With some crucial matches coming up in the next few weeks, the race for the Purple Cap is far from over.

Purple Cap list after MI vs RCB Match 54:

RankBowler NameTeamMatches PlayedWicketsBest BowlingEconomy
1.Mohammed ShamiGujarat Titans11194/117.23
2.Rashid KhanGujarat Titans11193/148.09
3.Tushar DeshpandeChennai Super Kings 11193/4510.33
4.Piyush ChawlaMumbai Indians11173/227.46
5.Varun ChakaravarthyKolkata Knight Riders11174/157.84
6.Yuzvendra ChahalRajasthan Royals11174/178.08
7.Arshdeep SinghPunjab Kings 11164/299.79
8.Ravindra Jadeja Chennai Super Kings 11153/207.38
9.Mohammed SirajRoyal Challengers Bangalore11154/217.92
10.Ravichandran Ashwin Rajasthan Royals11142/237.39

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you