Pakistan vs. Sri Lanka: Yet Another Moment of a Six Turning Into a Catch Out Due to Boundary Displacement

In the match that is being played between Pakistan and Sri Lanka, the Sri Lankan won the toss and chose to bat first. The team went on to chase a massive score of 343 and it is yet to witness if Pakistan will score its second big win of the ongoing World Cup. While two of the Sri Lankan batsmen namely skipper Kusal Mendis and Sadeera Samaraiwickrama scored centuries, Pakistani bowler Hasan Ali unleashed a magical spell by taking down 4 wickets. 

Kusal’s 122 off 77 and Samarawickrama’s 108 off 89 contributed largely to Sri Lanka’s hunt of 343 runs. While Pathum Nissanka hit a half century too, Pakistani bowlers really outwitted the Sri Lankan team with their magical bowling deliveries. However, a rare moment that caught the eyes of all the fans and the cricket world was the wicket of Kusal Mendis. 

A six or a catch-out? 

When Kusal Mendis was at 122* not-out, he played Hasan Ali’s delivery confidently hoping to score a boundary or a six. But it seemed that the ball landed in the hands of Imam ul Haq right at the boundary. However, later after several replays, it could be noticed that the boundary had been slightly displaced from its position and if that is to be the case, the hit would be counted as a six rather than a catch-out. 

To this anomaly, a twitter used reacted by “Kusal Mendis’s catch is taken by Imam on the boundary, where the boundary rope was moved a bit back. If it was in its actual position it would’ve been a six!! Who should be responsible for this?”, the user said. 

MCC laws on boundary positioning

The MCC law on Boundaries says that any disruption to the solid object i.e the boundary, the cushion necessitates immediate restoration to its original position. The clause 19.3.2 says that “The object shall be returned to its original position as soon as is practicable, if play is taking place, this shall be as soon as the ball is dead.”

Keeping these rules in mind, it becomes essential for the managing team to look into such matter because this is not the only time when such an incident has surfaced in front of the eyes, several such moments have been witnessed in the cricket history, the one being in the match between Pakistan and Netherlands. 

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you

In the match that is being played between Pakistan and Sri Lanka, the Sri Lankan won the toss and chose to bat first. The team went on to chase a massive score of 343 and it is yet to witness if Pakistan will score its second big win of the ongoing World Cup. While two of the Sri Lankan batsmen namely skipper Kusal Mendis and Sadeera Samaraiwickrama scored centuries, Pakistani bowler Hasan Ali unleashed a magical spell by taking down 4 wickets. 

Kusal's 122 off 77 and Samarawickrama's 108 off 89 contributed largely to Sri Lanka's hunt of 343 runs. While Pathum Nissanka hit a half century too, Pakistani bowlers really outwitted the Sri Lankan team with their magical bowling deliveries. However, a rare moment that caught the eyes of all the fans and the cricket world was the wicket of Kusal Mendis. 

A six or a catch-out? 

When Kusal Mendis was at 122* not-out, he played Hasan Ali's delivery confidently hoping to score a boundary or a six. But it seemed that the ball landed in the hands of Imam ul Haq right at the boundary. However, later after several replays, it could be noticed that the boundary had been slightly displaced from its position and if that is to be the case, the hit would be counted as a six rather than a catch-out. 

To this anomaly, a twitter used reacted by "Kusal Mendis's catch is taken by Imam on the boundary, where the boundary rope was moved a bit back. If it was in its actual position it would've been a six!! Who should be responsible for this?", the user said. 

MCC laws on boundary positioning

The MCC law on Boundaries says that any disruption to the solid object i.e the boundary, the cushion necessitates immediate restoration to its original position. The clause 19.3.2 says that "The object shall be returned to its original position as soon as is practicable, if play is taking place, this shall be as soon as the ball is dead."

Keeping these rules in mind, it becomes essential for the managing team to look into such matter because this is not the only time when such an incident has surfaced in front of the eyes, several such moments have been witnessed in the cricket history, the one being in the match between Pakistan and Netherlands. 

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram