Connect with us

Cricket News

List of ICC cricket world cup winners of all time

Australia Cricket Team won World Cup 2015
Australia won the World Cup in 2015

The ICC Cricket World Cup is about to enter its 12th edition in 2019. This time, the prestigious tournament will be hosted by England and Wales. England has already hosted the ODI World Cup 4 times in the past. In fact, the first 3 tournaments were held in England.

The mighty West Indies that were ruling the game in the 70s won the first 2 editions of the tournament in 1975 and 1979. They were the dominant force and possessed a fearsome line-up. Clive Lloyd was the winning captain on both occasions.

West Indies, led by Llyod, made it to the final of the 1983 World Cup as well. But this time, India, captained by Kapil Dev, pulled off the extraordinary and won the tournament for the first time. Australia then won the event by defeating England in 1987 in a tournament that was hosted by India and Pakistan.

Pakistan them emerged as the new winners of the crown in 1992 under the leadership of Imran Khan. Just like India won in 1983 with the tag of being the underdogs, Sri Lanka achieved the same in 1996 by running over Australia.

Then arrived the era of Australian cricket as they won 3 back to back titles. Steve Waugh led them to glory in 1999 while Ricky Ponting lifted the trophies in 2003 and 2007. Team India, under the leadership of MS Dhoni, won the title after 28 years and became the first team to win a World Cup at home. Australia repeated the feat in 2015 and won their record 5th title. The Men in Gold are the reigning champions at the moment.

ICC CWC Winners
1975West IndiesAustraliaEnglandLondon
1979West IndiesEnglandEnglandLondon
1983IndiaWest IndiesEnglandLondon
1987AustraliaEnglandIndia and PakistanKolkata
1992PakistanEnglandAustralia and New ZealandMelbourne
1996Sri LankaAustraliaIndia, Pakistan and Sri LankaLahore
1999AustraliaPakistanEngland and WalesLondon
2003AustraliaIndiaSouth AfricaJohannesburg
2007AustraliaSri LankaWest IndiesBridgetown
2011IndiaSri LankaIndia, Bangladesh and Sri LankaMumbai
2015AustraliaNew ZealandAustralia and New ZealandMelbourne

-Stats as of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015


Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


No live match currently in Progress!

Tour 10:00 AM 23 July 2019
HIC 0-0(0)
HAD 0-0(0)

The Rose Bowl, Southampton


Test Only Test 10:00 AM 24 July 2019
IRE 0-0(0)
ENG 0-0(0)

Lord's, London


T20 Intl 1st T20I 18:15 PM 26 July 2019
AUS 0-0(0)
ENG 0-0(0)

County Ground, Chelmsford


T20 Intl 2nd T20I 13:00 PM 28 July 2019
AUS 0-0(0)
ENG 0-0(0)

The County Ground, Hove


T20 Intl 3rd T20I 17:30 PM 31 July 2019
AUS 0-0(0)
ENG 0-0(0)

Bristol County Ground, Bristol


No completed match yet!

Most Viewed

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News