Connect with us

Cricket News

IPL Auction 2018: List of players purchased by Mumbai Indians

Krunal Pandya
Krunal Pandya

Mumbai Indians came out with a weird strategy in the IPL Auction 2018. They bid for several players throughout the day but halted quite a lot as the bids went up. There was plenty of movement on the desk of MI but the results at the end of the day do not show the efforts made.

They had retained Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah before the auction and had a sum of INR 47 crores remaining in the purse. Their first addition to the squad from the auction was predictable as they used an RTM card for Kieron Pollard who was bought by Delhi Daredevils for INR 5.4 crores.

After Pollard, who was the 3rd to appear for auction, MI indulged in bidding for several players but ended up buying Mustafizur Rahman of Bangladesh who was the 50th player made available for bidding in the day. The Bangladeshi pacer bagged a bid of INR 2.2 crores which went down considerably given his poor outing in the last edition.

Pat Cummins turned out to be a good pick for MI as the Australian pacer came in for INR 5.4 crores. Surya Kumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan were the 2 uncapped players added to the squad. But the limelight was grabbed by Krunal Pandya.

The Man of the Match of the last year’s final grabbed the attention of Royal Challengers Bangalore, Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad and a bidding tussle ended up in the favor of RCB who got the winning bid of INR 8.8 crores. But MI was quick to pounce on the opportunity and used the other RTM card to retain Krunal in the squad.

On the second day, the franchise brought in the Caribbean opener Evin Lewis and the South African all-rounde JP Duminy. At the end, there were plenty of uncapped Indian players that were added to the camp.

Players purchased by Mumbai Indians in the IPL Auction 2018

PlayerTypeCountryBase PriceSold for
Kieron PollardMarqueeWindiesINR 2 croresINR 5.4 crores
Mustafizur RahmanFast BowlerBangladeshINR 1 croreINR 2.2 crores
Pat CumminsFast BowlerAustraliaINR 2 croresINR 5.4 crores
Surya Kumar YadavUncapped BatsmanIndiaINR 30 LakhsINR 3.2 crores
Siddhesh LadUncapped BatsmanIndiaINR 20 LakhsINR 20 Lakhs
Krunal PandyaUncapped All-RounderIndiaINR 40 LakhsINR 8.8 crores
Ishan KishanUncapped WicketkeeperIndiaINR 40 LakhsINR 6.2 crores
Aditya TareUncapped WicketkeeperIndiaINR 20 LakhsINR 20 Lakhs
Rahul ChaharUncapped SpinnerIndiaINR 20 LakhsINR 1.9 crores
Evin LewisCapped BatsmanWindiesINR 1.5 croresINR 3.8 crores
Saurabh TiwaryCapped BatsmanIndiaINR 50 LakhsINR 80 Lakhs
Ben CuttingAll-RounderAustraliaINR 1 croreINR 2.2 crores
Pradeep SangwanUncapped Fast BowlerIndiaINR 30 LakhsINR 1.5 crores
Mayank MarkandeUncapped SpinnerIndiaINR 20 LakhsINR 20 Lakhs
JP DuminyCapped All-RounderSouth AfricaINR 1 croreINR 1 crore
Jason BehrendorffFast BowlerAustraliaINR 1 croreINR 1.5 crores
Tajinder DhillonUncapped All-RounderIndiaINR 20 LakhsINR 55 Lakhs
Sharad LumbaUncapped BatsmanIndiaINR 20 LakhsINR 20 Lakhs
Anukul RoyUncapped All-RounderIndiaINR 20 LakhsINR 20 Lakhs
Akila DananjayaSpinnerSri LankaINR 50 LakhsINR 50 Lakhs
Mohsin KhanUncapped BatsmanIndiaINR 20 LakhsINR 20 Lakhs
Nidheesh MUncapped Fast BowlerIndiaINR 20 LakhsINR 20 Lakhs

For more such news related to IPL, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter 
and Instagram

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


No live match currently in Progress!

One-Day 00:00 AM 21 September 2019
WA 0-0(0)
QLD 0-0(0)

Souths District Cricket Club Brisbane


One-Day Match 1 06:00 AM 21 September 2019
VIC 0-0(0)
WA 0-0(0)

WACA Ground, Perth


One-Day Match 2 23:30 PM 21 September 2019
NSW 0-0(0)
QLD 0-0(0)

Allan Border Field, Brisbane


One-Day 23:30 PM 21 September 2019
WA 0-0(0)
TAS 0-0(0)

Souths District Cricket Club Brisbane


One-Day 00:30 AM 22 September 2019
ACT 0-0(0)
VIC 0-0(0)

Park 25, Adelaide


No completed match yet!

Most Viewed

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News