Connect with us

Cricket News

IPL Auction 2018: List of players purchased by Delhi Daredevils

Gautam Gambhir
Gautam Gambhir

The Delhi Daredevils went in with a clear strategy in the IPL Auction 2018. They wanted to revamp the whole squad and were in the hunt for some big names. They bid for quite a few players and at the end, managed to grab plenty of experienced players.

The highlight of the auction for DD turned out to be the purchase of Gautam Gambhir. He was bagged for a bid of INR 2.8 crores and Kolkata Knight Riders did not show any interest in retaining him. As a result, Gambhir returned to the setup of DD and is the premier prospect for the captaincy.

The biggest purchase happened to be Australia’s explosive batsman Glenn Maxwell for INR 9 crores. He was let go by Kings XI Punjab but DD did not mind loosening the pocket for him. They then had 2 absolute steal deals in the form of Jason Roy and Colin Munro. Both of them are specialists of the shortest format of the game and were bought for just a few bucks as compared to what they were expected to get.

Amongst the Indian bowlers, DD managed to rope in the pacer Mohammed Shami and the leg-spinner Amit Mishra. South Africa’s young pacer Kagiso Rabada will represent DD once again as he was picked up for INR 4.2 crores. India’s Under-19 captain and a massively talented batsman Prithvi Shaw will also play for DD. Trent Boult and Daniel Christian were the other big names added on the second day of the auction.

Players purchased by Delhi Daredevils in the IPL Auction 2018

PlayerTypeCountryBase PriceSold for
Glenn MaxwellMarqueeAustraliaINR 2 croresINR 9 crores
Gautam GambhirMarqueeIndiaINR 2 croresINR 2.8 crores
Jason RoyCapped BatsmanEnglandINR 1.5 croresINR 1.5 crores
Colin MunroAll-RounderNew ZealandINR 50 LakhsINR 1.9 crores
Naman OjhaWicketkeeperIndiaINR 75 LakhsINR 1.4 crores
Mohammed ShamiFast BowlerIndiaINR 1 croreINR 3 crores
Kagiso RabadaFast BowlerSouth AfricaINR 1.5 croresINR 4.2 crores
Amit MishraSpinnerIndiaINR 1.5 croresINR 4 crores
Prithvi ShawUncapped BatsmanIndiaINR 20 LakhsINR 1.2 crores
Rahul TewatiaUncapped All-RounderIndiaINR 20 LakhsINR 3 crores
Vijay ShankarUncapped All-RounderIndiaINR 40 LakhsINR 3.2 crores
Harshal PatelUncapped All-RounderIndiaINR 20 LakhsINR 20 Lakhs
Avesh KhanUncapped Fast BowlerIndiaINR 20 LakhsINR 70 Lakhs
Shahbaz NadeemUncapped SpinnerIndiaINR 40 LakhsINR 3.2 crores
Daniel ChristianAll-RounderAustraliaINR 1 croreINR 1.5 crores
Jayant YadavAll-RounderIndiaINR 50 LakhsINR 50 Lakhs
Gurkeerat SinghAll-RounderIndiaINR 50 LakhsINR 75 Lakhs
Trent BoultFast BowlerNew ZealandINR 1.5 croresINR 2.2 crores
Manjot KalraUncapped BatsmanIndiaINR 20 LakhsINR 20 Lakhs
Abhishek SharmaUncapped All-RounderIndiaINR 20 LakhsINR 55 Lakhs
Sayan GhoshUncapped Fast BowlerIndiaINR 20 LakhsINR 20 Lakhs
Sandeep LamichhaneUncapped Fast BowlerNepalINR 20 LakhsINR 20 Lakhs


For more such news related to IPL, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


No live match currently in Progress!

One-Day 00:00 AM 21 September 2019
WA 0-0(0)
QLD 0-0(0)

Souths District Cricket Club Brisbane


One-Day Match 1 06:00 AM 21 September 2019
VIC 0-0(0)
WA 0-0(0)

WACA Ground, Perth


One-Day Match 2 23:30 PM 21 September 2019
NSW 0-0(0)
QLD 0-0(0)

Allan Border Field, Brisbane


One-Day 23:30 PM 21 September 2019
WA 0-0(0)
TAS 0-0(0)

Souths District Cricket Club Brisbane


One-Day 00:30 AM 22 September 2019
ACT 0-0(0)
VIC 0-0(0)

Park 25, Adelaide


No completed match yet!

Most Viewed

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News