IPL 2020: Here’s the Reason why Chris Morris is not Playing today against Royal Challengers Bangalore

Royal Challengers will have to play at least one more IPL 2020 match without the service of all-rounder Chris Morris. As informed by the management yesterday, the South African genius has been suffering from a side strain. Keep reading to find out the reason why Chris Morris is not playing against Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2020.

Here is why Chris Morris not playing today against RCB

Chris Morris was one costly by all Royal Challengers Bangalore as the all-rounder was bought for Rs 10 cr by the franchise. The intention was to strengthen their death bowling department. But Morris after missing the first game of RCB is also unavailable for their second encounter against Kings XI Punjab. RCB’s Director of Cricket Operations Mike Hesson already informed on an official video of RCB about this. “Chris Morris, unfortunately, picked up a slight side strain a few days ago, he would have played a huge role through the middle and death overs, his batting would have had a huge impact as well.”

He added,  “This does change the balance of our side, he is a three in one cricketer, he is not easy to replace and as a result, we had to change the structure of our side. Hopefully, Chris will come into consideration for selection in a game or two, we will continue to monitor him.”

RCB go with an unchanged team

Royal Challengers Bangalore have opted for Dale Steyn, AB de Villiers, Aaron Finch, and Josh Philippe for their second IPL 2020 match. After winning the first match against Sunrisers Hyderabad the team management decided to continue with the winning team combination. Dale Steyn will be expected to showcase the experienced side of him today whereas Philippe got another chance to prove himself. If Philippe manages to do well, Kohli’s decision of preferring him over Parthiv Patel as the team’s keeper will be justified.

RCB Playing XI against KXIP

Devdutt Padikkal, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli (C), AB de Villiers, Josh Philippe (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Dale Steyn, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Yuzvendra Chahal

Stay updated with all the cricketing action,  follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you