Connect with us

Cricket News

IPL 2019: Mumbai Indians release 10 players ahead of auction

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians

IPL Franchise Mumbai Indians have released 10 players ahead of the auction for IPL 2019. From their squad of 28 players, they have retained 18 players. The 3-time Champions opted to retain the core squad that consists of Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Kieron Pollara and the Bumrah brothers.

Australian pacer Pat Cummins, who bagged a bid of INR 5.4 crore last year, finds himself out of the side. He had suffered a back injury and missed the last edition. Along with him, South African all-rounder JP Duminy has also witnessed omission. The left-hander played just 6 matches in 2018 and mustered only 36 runs.

Bangladesh’s Mustafizur Rahman, who had an amazing time with Sunrisers Hyderabad a couple of years ago, failed miserably for Mumbai. As a result, he finds himself out of the squad. Sri Lankan spinner Akila Dananjaya is the 4th overseas player to be removed. Saurabh Tiwary, Pradeep Sangwan are the other prominent names apart from 4 other uncapped players.

Mumbai Indians would look to get back to winning ways

Mumbai Indians didn’t have a pleasant time in IPL 2018. The franchise that was the defending champion last year, couldn’t make it to the playoffs and finished 5th on the points table. The new players failed to make an impact and so, they found themselves on the losing end more often than not.

Now, they would look to bring in some T20 specialists from the auction. Earlier, MI had roped in Quinton de Kock from Royal Challengers Bangalore. Now that Cummins and Mustafizur are out, they would hunt for a quality overseas pacer.

Retained players

Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan (WK), Suryakumar Yadav, Mayank Markande, Rahul Chahar, Anukul Roy, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Quinton de Kock, Evin Lewis, Kieron Pollard, Ben Cutting, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Jason Behrendorff.

Released players

Saurabh Tiwary, Pradeep Sangwan, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Sharad Lumba, Tajinder Singh Dhillon, JP Duminy, Pat Cummins, Mustafizur Rahman, Akila Dananjaya.


Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


No live match currently in Progress!

Test 1st Test 22:30 PM 20 February 2020
IND 0-0(0)
NZ 0-0(0)

Basin Reserve, Wellington


T20 Intl Match 1 08:00 AM 21 February 2020
IND 0-0(0)
AUS 0-0(0)

Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney


T20 Intl 1st T20I 16:00 PM 21 February 2020
AUS 0-0(0)
SA 0-0(0)

New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg


One-Day 03:00 AM 22 February 2020
EL 0-0(0)
AUS 0-0(0)

MCG, Melbourne


T20 Intl Match 2 07:00 AM 22 February 2020
THA 0-0(0)
WI 0-0(0)

WACA Ground, Perth


No completed match yet!

T20 Match 1 07:30 AM 11 December 2019
Chattogram Challengers 163/5 (19.0)
Sylhet Thunder 162/4 (20.0)

Match Ended

Chattogram Challengers beat Sylhet Thunder by 5 wickets

T20 Match 2 12:30 PM 11 December 2019
Cumilla Warriors 173/7 (20.0)
Rangpur Rangers 68 (14.0)

Match Ended

Cumilla Warriors beat Rangpur Rangers by 105 runs

T20 Match 3 07:30 AM 12 December 2019
Dhaka Platoon 134/9 (20.0)
Rajshahi Royals 136/1 (18.2)

Match Ended

Rajshahi Royals beat Dhaka Platoon by 9 wickets

T20 Match 4 12:30 PM 12 December 2019
Chattogram Challengers 144/6 (20.0)
Khulna Tigers 146/2 (13.5)

Match Ended

Khulna Tigers beat Chattogram Challengers by 8 wickets

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News