IPL 2019 KKR vs KXIP: Twitter reacts as KKR inflicted a comprehensive win

Kings XI Punjab traveled to the Eden Gardens to face Kolkata Knight Riders for the 6th game of IPL 2019. It turned out to be a high scoring game with KKR notching up the highest total at the venue. Despite the fight by KXIP, the hosts emerged as comprehensive winners.

The hosts batted first after Dinesh Karthik lost the toss. Sunil Narine, who didn’t bat in the last game due to a finger injury, was back to open this time. He took to the debutant Varun Chakravarthy by collecting 25 runs in the 2nd over of the innings. On the other hand, Chris Lynn fell to Mohammed Shami. Narine too got out soon for 24 to Hardus Viljoen.

Robin Uthappa and Nitish Rana then built a solid foundation for a big score. Their stand of 110 runs put KKR firmly in the driver’s seat. Rana was the aggressor of the two as he scored 63 from just 34 balls. When he got out in the 15th over, the hosts had already accumulated 146 runs. Uthappa also reached his half-century and played a great hand.

Andre Russell survived a scare when he got out off a no-ball. He took full advantage of the second opportunity and went after the bowlers in the last few overs. The right-hander scored 48 from just 17 balls that propelled KKR to a mammoth 218/4 in 20 overs.

KXIP got off to a poor start when they lost KL Rahul early. Chris Gayle too failed to impress as Andre Russell dismissed him for 20. Soon, the visitors lost the 3rd wicket in the form of Sarfaraz Khan as Russell claimed his 2nd of the night.

When the visitors found themselves in deep trouble, Mayank Agarwal and David Miller joined hands to put up a fight. But Agarwal, after scoring 58 from 34 balls, became a victim of Piyush Chawla’s googly.

From that point onwards, KKR dominated. Miller and Mandeep battled at the death but they had a mountain to climb. Despite their decent efforts, the big score wasn’t chasable. KXIP fell short by 28 as the hosts claimed their consecutive win.

KKR vs KXIP Match Summary

Kings XI Punjab won the toss and opted to bowl first

Kolkata Knight Riders: 218/4 in 20 overs

Robin Uthappa 67* (50), Nitish Rana 63 (34)

Varun Chakravarthy 35/1 (3), Hardus Viljoen 36/1 (4)

Kings XI Punjab: 190/4 in 20 overs

David Miller 59* (40), Mayank Agarwal 58 (34)

Andre Russell 21/2 (3), Piyush Chawla 26/1 (3)

Kolkata Knight Riders won by 28 runs

Player of the Match: Andre Russell


Twitter was all praises for the hosts




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you