Connect with us

Cricket News

IPL 2019 CSK vs RR: CSK’s Third successive IPL victory at Chepauk

IPL 2019 CSK vs RR: CSK's Third successive IPL victory at Chepauk

Chennai Super Kings met Rajasthan Royals at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in the 12th match of IPL 2019. The defending champions extended their winning run as they got the better of the visitors even with the threat of dew.

Delhi Capitals won the toss and invited the hosts to bat first. The pitch seemed slow and difficult to bat on initially. Ambati Rayudu, Shane Watson and Kedar Jadhav got out inside the powerplay due to the slow nature of the surface. After 6 overs, CSK was struggling at 29/3.

MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina came together and began to rebuild the innings. They mixed caution with aggression and scripted a comeback for CSK. After 13 overs, the Men in Yellow reached 83/3. Jaydev Unadkat accounted for the wicket of Raina in the 14th over.

Dwayne Bravo came out to join Dhoni at the crease. Bravo played a useful hand of 27 from 16 balls before getting out to Jofra Archer in the penultimate over. But the death overs belonged to Dhoni. The CSK captain played a magnificent hand of 75 from 46 balls with 4 fours and as many sixes. His efforts during the slog overs helped CSK reach 175/5 in 20 overs.

RR lost the captain Ajinkya Rahane off just the second ball of the innings. Sanju Samson too failed to impress as he fell to Deepak Chahar who took his second wicket. Jos Buttler was sent back by Shardul Thakur in the next over that left the visitors reeling at 14/3 in the 4th over.

Rahul Tripathi instilled some momentum in the chase as he found a few boundaries. Along with Steve Smith, he added 61 runs for the 4th wicket. Imran Tahir came into the attack in the 10th over and accounted for the wicket of Tripathi for 39.

Smith was shaping up to play the finisher’s role as he had gotten his eye in. But Tahir came back to bag another crucial wicket by sending back the Australian for 28 in the 14th over. RR needed 65 from the last 5 overs when Ben Stokes and Krishnappa Gowtham came together.

Shardul removed Gowtham for 9 in the 17th over. Jofra Archer struck a couple of big blows to bring it down to 25 from 12 balls. Shardul conceded 13 runs in the penultimate over. Dwayne Bravo had 12 in the bank for the last over.

He got Stokes out caught on the first ball for 46. Shreyas Gopal managed to get off the strike after 2 balls. With 11 required from 3 balls, Archer could get just a single. Gopal got out caught at third man off the second last ball. The last one went for just a single as Bravo successfully defended the score. CSK ended up winning by 8 runs to make it 3 in 3.

IPL 2019 Match 12 CSK vs RR Summary and Full Scorecard

Chennai Super Kings – 175/5 (20 Overs)

MS Dhoni– 75 (46)Jofra Archer – 2/17
Suresh Raina – 36 (32)Dhawal Kulkarni – 1/37


Rajasthan Royals – 167/8 (20 Overs)

Ben Stokes – 46 (26)Deepak Chahar – 2/19
Rahul Tripathi – 39 (24)Imran Tahir – 2/23

Chennai Super Kings Innings Full Scorecard

Chennai Super Kings- 175/5 (20 Overs)

Ambati Rayudu (c Jos Buttler b Jofra Archer)180012.5
Shane Watson (c Jofra Archer b Stokes)131311100
Suresh Raina (b Unadkat)363241112.5
Kedar Jadhav (c Jos Buttler b D Kulkarni)8320266.67
MS Dhoni (c & wk) (not out)754644163.04
Dwayne Bravo (c D Kulkarni b Jofra Archer)271631168.75
Ravindra Jadeja (not out)8301266.67

Did not bat:- Mitchell Santner, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Imran Tahir

Dhawal Kulkarni40371119.25
Jofra Archer41172004.25
Ben Stokes303010010
Shreyas Gopal30230007.67
Krishnappa Gowtham20130106.5
Jaydev Unadkat405413013.5

Rajasthan Royals Innings Full Scorecard

Rajasthan Royals- 167/8 (20 Overs)

Ajinkya Rahane (c) (c Ravindra Jadeja b D Chahar)02000
Jos Buttler (wk) (c DJ Bravo b SN Thakur)671085.71
Sanju Samson (c Raina b D Chahar)8101080
Rahul Tripathi (c & b Tahir)392451162.5
Steven Smith (c (sub)D Shorey b Tahir)28302093.33
Ben Stokes (c Raina b DJ Bravo)462613176.72
Krishnappa Gowtham (c Raina b SN Thakur)9801112.5
Jofra Archer (not out)241112218.18
Shreyas Gopal (c Tahir b DJ Bravo)03000
Jaydev Unadkat (not out)00000

Did not bat:- Dhawal Kulkarni

Deepak Chahar41192104.75
Shardul Thakur404221010.5
Mitchell Santner202600113
Ravindra Jadeja202300011.5
Imran Tahir40232005.75
Dwayne Bravo40322208

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


No live match currently in Progress!

T20 T20 Match 08:10 AM 24 October 2019
SL 0-0(0)
PXI 0-0(0)

Manuka Oval, Canberra


T20 Match 9 23:40 PM 25 October 2019
HUR 0-0(0)
STR 0-0(0)

Allan Border Field, Brisbane


T20 Match 10 03:00 AM 26 October 2019
STA 0-0(0)
SIX 0-0(0)

Hurstville Oval, Hurstville


T20 Match 11 03:10 AM 26 October 2019
SCO 0-0(0)
HEA 0-0(0)

Allan Border Field, Brisbane


T20 Match 12 08:00 AM 26 October 2019
REN 0-0(0)
THU 0-0(0)

Blacktown International Sportspark 1, Sydney


No completed match yet!

Most Viewed

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News