IPL 2018, Final-Twitter Reactions: CSK thump SRH to cruise to their 3rd title

IPL final 2018, IPL Auction 2019

After 59 matches, it all boiled down to the last game in the IPL 2018. Fittingly, the two best sides of the tournament – Chennai Super Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad, were up against each other in the IPL 2018 final at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. CSK had the better of SRH in all the previous 3 meetings this year including the first Qualifier.

SRH had reached the final by defeating Kolkata Knight Riders in the second Qualifier. But the MS Dhoni-led troop once again ended up on the winning side. The side that was mocked for having players aging above 30, answered all the critics and lifted the title for the 3rd time. They equaled Mumbai Indians in terms of most IPL titles and stamped their reputation as the most consistent side ever.

It is said that well begun is half done and MS Dhoni had the luck by his side when he won the crucial toss of IPL 2018 final. SRH were asked to bat first and they suffered an early blow when Shreevats Goswami departed for just 5. Their dependable duo of Shikhar Dhawan and Kane Williamson added 51 runs for the 2nd wicket before the former was castled by Ravindra Jadeja for 26 in the 9th over.

Williamson was threatening to run away with the game but Karn Sharma sent him back for 47 at a crucial juncture in the 13th over when the score read 101/3. Shakib Al Hasan scored 23 runs but got out to Dwayne Bravo. SRH needed a strong finish to reach a respectable total. Yusuf Pathan’s knock of 45 from 25 balls and Carlos Brathwaite’ cameo of 21 off 11 propelled them to 178/6 from 20 overs.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar began with a wonderful first over and made life difficult for Shane Watson who played out a maiden over. Faf du Plessis couldn’t last long and departed for 10 courtesy Sandeep Sharma. Watson was subdued in his approach initially and SRH kept the score down to 35/1 from 6 overs.

But all of a sudden, the Australian batsman exploded and took the bowling to the cleaners. Suresh Raina just played the supporting hand and witnessed Watson flourishing at the other end. The partnership for the 2nd wicket added 117 runs before Raina got out for 32 in the 14th over but the score had raced off to 133/2.

Watson didn’t lift the foot off the paddle and went on to notch up his second century of the season. His unbeaten 117 off 57 balls included 11 fours and 8 sixes. The finishing touch came from Ambati Rayudu as a cover drive sealed the match for CSK in the 19th over as they won by 8 wickets with 9 balls in hand.

Match Summary

In the IPL 2018 final Chennai Super Kings won the toss and opted to bowl first

Sunrisers Hyderabad: 178/6 in 20 overs

Kane Williamson 47 (36), Yusuf Pathan 45* (25)

Karn Sharma 25/1 (3), Lungi Ngidi 26/1 (4)

Chennai Super Kings: 181/2 in 18.3 overs

Shane Watson 117* (57), Suresh Raina 32 (24)

Carlos Brathwaite 27/1 (2.3), Sandeep Sharma 52/1 (4)

Chennai Super Kings won by 8 wickets

Player of the Match: Shane Watson


Here’s how Twitter reacted to IPL 2018 final , CSK becoming the champions again








Stay updated with all the IPL action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Rashid Khan in IPL

IPL 2018, Qualifier 2 – Highlights: The all-round show of Rashid Khan takes SRH to the final

IPL 2018 Best XI

IPL 2018: Best XI of the tournament