Connect with us

Cricket News

Indian squad for the first 2 Windies ODIs announced

Indian squad
Indian squad

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the Indian squad for the first 2 ODIs against Windies. It was expected that the regular skipper Virat Kohli will be given a break again. But Kohli will lead the side and take over from Rohit Sharma who had captained the side in the Asia Cup 2018.

The selectors have decided to hand the maiden ODI call-up to Rishabh Pant. MS Dhoni will be the first choice keeper while Rishabh gets a chance after his impressive showing in Test cricket recently. Dinesh Karthik has been axed from the side after he put in mediocre performances in the Asia Cup.

The regular seamers Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have not been included in the squad. They will continue resting after the selectors had opted to give them a break in the ongoing Test series. Mohammed Shami returns to the ODI setup once again and the young pacer Khaleel Ahmed retains his place.

The 14-man squad also features Ravindra Jadeja who had made a return in the Asia Cup after Hardik Pandya was ruled out with an injury. Jadeja had impressed in a couple of games which helped him retain his place. He will be the 3rd spinner along with Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav. Pandya’s injury still keeps him out of the side.

India, after the completion of the 2-Test series, will face Windies in 5 ODIs starting October 21. The matches will be hosted by Guwahati, Visakhapatnam, Pune, Mumbai and Thiruvananthapuram.

Indian squad for the first two Windies ODIs

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wk), Rishabh Pant, R Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Khaleel Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, KL Rahul


Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


No live match currently in Progress!

T20 Match 40 14:30 PM 22 April 2019
DEL 0-0(0)
RAJ 0-0(0)

Sawai Mansingh Stadium


T20 Match 41 14:30 PM 23 April 2019
SUN 0-0(0)
CSK 0-0(0)

MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai


T20 Match 42 14:30 PM 24 April 2019
KXI 0-0(0)
RCB 0-0(0)

M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru


T20 Match 43 14:30 PM 25 April 2019
RAJ 0-0(0)
KKR 0-0(0)

Eden Gardens, Kolkata


T20 Match 44 14:30 PM 26 April 2019
MI 0-0(0)
CSK 0-0(0)

MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai


No completed match yet!

Most Viewed

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News