Connect with us

Cricket News

CoA rejects CAC’s request

CoA rejects CAC’s request to pick the support staff for the Indian team

The Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators (CoA) has rejected Cricket Advisory Committee’s (CAC) request to pick the support staff for the Indian team citing a shortage of time to get the right permission in time.

The story

The three-member CAC consisting Kapil Dev, Anshuman Gaekwad and Shantha Rangaswamy had requested the CoA to participate in the process to select the support coach after picking the Head Coach on Friday. But the CoA couldn’t accept the proposal as there is not much time left to take a final call before the selection procedure starting on Monday.

A source close to COA explained to CricketNext, “There is just not enough time for COA to take a decision like this. The CAC can only select the head coach according to the new BCCI constitution.” The source further explained, “The COA would have needed special permission from Supreme Court or the Amicus Curiae PS Narasimha to allow CAC to pick the support staff. There’s not enough time for that.”

The process

According to the new BCCI constitution, the powers to select the support staff are vested to the BCCI CEO Rahul Johri although technically the CEO is only a signatory to the process. As mentioned in the protocol laid down in the BCCI constitution, the selection committee has the power to select the support staff of the Indian junior team. Following the same logic, Vinod Rai, Diana Edulji and Ravi Thodge have decided to apply the same to the men’s senior team as well.

Indian cricket team’s support staffs – Sanjay Bangar (batting coach), Bharat Arun (bowling coach), R. Sridhar (fielding coach) and administrative manager Sunil Subramaniam are serving a 45-day contract extension and currently with the team in West Indies. They are the automatic entrants into the selection process.

Former selector Vikram Rathour, Praveen Amre, England’s Jonathan Trott, and Mark Ramprakash have applied for the role of batting coach. Venkatesh Prasad, Sunil Joshi, Steffan Jones, and Clint McKay have applied for the bowling coach’s post whereas for fielding coach post-Jonty Rhodes is the competitor.

The selection of the support staff has already started and will be held over next four days till Thursday (August 22) in Mumbai by the men’s senior selection committee headed by MSK Prasad.

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitterand Instagram

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


No live match currently in Progress!

T20 Intl 2nd T20I 13:30 PM 18 September 2019
SA 0-0(0)
IND 0-0(0)

Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali


T20 Intl 3rd T20I 23:00 PM 18 September 2019
AUS 0-0(0)
WI 0-0(0)

Kensington Oval, Bridgetown


One-Day 00:00 AM 21 September 2019
WA 0-0(0)
QLD 0-0(0)

Souths District Cricket Club Brisbane


One-Day Match 1 06:00 AM 21 September 2019
VIC 0-0(0)
WA 0-0(0)

WACA Ground, Perth


One-Day Match 2 23:30 PM 21 September 2019
NSW 0-0(0)
QLD 0-0(0)

Allan Border Field, Brisbane


No completed match yet!

Most Viewed

Like us at Blogadda

More in Cricket News