Cheteshwar Pujara and Harmanpreet Kaur to be esteemed with Arjuna Award

The Government of India has announced the list of sportspersons who would receive the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, Dronacharya, Arjuna and Dhyan Chand awards. Amongst the recipients, there are 2 cricketers. The batting mainstay of India’s men’s Test team Cheteshwar Pujara and the vice-captain of Indian women’s team Harmanpreet Kaur will receive the Arjuna Award.

The committee for Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand awards was headed by Shri Pullela Gopichand and the committee for Khel Ratna and Arjuna award was led by retired justice C.K.Thakkar. Virender Sehwag was also a part of the committee that picked this year’s Khel Ratna and Arjuna awards.

Cheteshwar Pujara has been a premier contributor for Indian cricket in the longest format of the game and has been hugely responsible for India’s No.1 ranking in Test cricket.

On the other hand, Harmanpreet was a vital cog in Indian women’s wonderful run in the ICC Women’s World Cup where they made it to the final. She is only the 6th women cricketer to bag the prestigious honor after Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, Diana Edulji, Anju Jain and Anjum Chopra.

List of all the awards declared:

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2017

Shri Devendra – Para Athlete

Shri Sardar Singh – Hockey

Dronacharya Awards 2017

Late R. Gandhi – Athletics

Mr Heera Nand Kataria – Kabaddi

Mr G.S.S.V. Prasad – Badminton (Lifetime)

Mr Brij Bhushan Mohanty – Boxing (Lifetime)

Mr P.A. Raphel – Hockey (Lifetime)

Mr Sanjoy Chakravenhy – Shooting (Lifetime)

Mr Roshan Lal – Wrestling (Lifetime)

Arjuna Awards 2017

Ms V.J. Surekha – Archery

Ms Khushbir Kaur – Athletics

Mr Arokia Rajiv – Athletics

Ms Prasanthi Singh – Basketball

Sub. Laishram Debendro Singh – Boxing

Mr Cheteshwar Pujara – Cricket

Ms.Harmanpreet Kaur – Cricket

Ms Oinam Bembem Devi – FootballS.S.P.

S.S.P. Chawrasia – Golf

Mr S.V. Sunil – Hockey

Mr Jasvir Singh – Kabaddi

Mr P. N. Prakash – Shooting

Mr A. Amalraj – Table Tennis

Mr Saketh Myneni – Tennis

Mr Satyawart Kadian – Wrestling

Mr Mariyappan – Para AthleteDhyan Chand Awards 2017

Dhyan Chand Awards 2017

Mr Bhupender Singh – Athletics

Mr Syed Shahid Hakim – Football


Ms Sumarai Tete – Hockey


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you