Australia’s squad announced for the ODI series against India

After the ongoing Test series between Australia and India, the 2 teams will clash in a series of 3 ODIs. The selectors have announced the 14-man Australia’s squad for the shorter format. Some big changes have been made by the selectors.

Australia last played an ODI series in October at home against South Africa. From that squad, Chris Lynn, D’Arcy Short, Ben McDermott, Travis Head and Ashton Agar have been dropped. While Nathan Coulter-Nile will miss out due to some lower back soreness.

Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon and Usman Khawaja have been named in the ODI squad. On the other hand, the selectors have opted to rest the pace trio of Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood. They had a heavy workload in the 4 Tests against India. The selectors wish to keep them fresh for the Test series against Sri Lanka.

“After a hefty workload in the Indian series to date, it has been decided not to select Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood in this squad to allow them to freshen up for the Test series against Sri Lanka,” chief selector Trevor Hohns said as quoted by Cricbuzz.

Jhye Richardson, Jason Behrendorff, Peter Siddle and Billy Stanlake will lead the pace attack. “We have rewarded both Jhye and Jason as they continue to put up strong performances with the white ball. Jason provides us with a left arm option in the absence of Mitchell Starc and is very capable of taking wickets early in the innings,” added Hohns.

Siddle makes a comeback to Australia’s squad in ODIs after 2010

Peter Siddle makes a comeback to the ODI squad after playing his last ODI in 2010. If he gets a game, he would hold the record for the Australian player with the longest interval between 2 games. Also, Nathan Lyon, who has been a prominent Test player, finds a place in the ODIs.

“It’s wonderful to have Peter back in the squad for the first time since 2010. His white ball cricket has improved considerably the older he has got, and his selection is a great reward for his professionalism and strong leadership qualities,” Hohns added.

“Nathan Lyon comes back into the squad and will join Adam Zampa as our spin options. Nathan is the best off-spin bowler in the world and we’ve noted how successful teams around the world have been using a two-pronged spin attack in the right conditions in white ball cricket, something we are very mindful of heading to the World Cup,” Hohns continued.

Australia’s squad for the ODI series against India

Aaron Finch (c), Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Marcu Stoinis, Mitchell Marsh, Alex Carey, Jhye Richardson, Billy Stanlake, Jason Behrendorff, Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa.


Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on FacebookTwitter and Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you