More stories

Load More
Congratulations. You've reached the end of the internet.

The Ashes

The Ashes is a Test series in Cricket which is played between the two of the oldest team in this sports England and Australia. This series mainly consists of 5 Test matches played between both the countries. This series is conducted in every two years, either in England or in Australia. The 2019 Ashes series is going to start from 1st of August 2019 in England, this will be the 71st series between the England national cricket team and Australia national cricket team.


The Ashes was originated in the year 1882 when Australia beat England for the first time in their home. After this an obituary was published in an English cricket newspaper, The Sporting Times, it stated that the English cricket had died, and “the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia”. This myth became associated with the 1882-83 series which was going to be held in Australia and the England captain Ivo Bligh promised before the start of the series that he will “regain those Ashes”.

Overall Test Results

No. of Tests played Australia won England won Draws
330 134 106 90

 Overall Series Results

No. of Series played Australia won England won Draws
70 33 32 5

Match Venues

This series is played in the grounds of both the countries alternatively, i.e. England (United Kingdom) and Australia.

Ashes 2019 Schedule

Ashes 2019 will start from 1st August.  Here is the complete schedule of 2019

Aug 01, Thu – Aug 05, Mon England vs Australia, 1st Test 3:30 PM Edgbaston, Birmingham
11:00 AM LOCAL / 10:00 AM GMT
Aug 14, Wed – Aug 18, Sun England vs Australia, 2nd Test 3:30 PM Lord’s, London
11:00 AM LOCAL / 10:00 AM GMT
Aug 22, Thu – Aug 26, Mon England vs Australia, 3rd Test 3:30 PM Headingley, Leeds
11:00 AM LOCAL / 10:00 AM GMT
Sep 04, Wed – Sep 08, Sun England vs Australia, 4th Test 3:30 PM Old Trafford, Manchester
11:00 AM LOCAL / 10:00 AM GMT
Sep 12, Thu – Sep 16, Mon England vs Australia, 5th Test 3:30 PM Kennington Oval, London
11:00 AM LOCAL / 10:00 AM GMT