WTC Final: Indian Cricket Team Announced

WTC Final: Indian Cricket Team Announced
Image Source: BCCI Official Twitter (@BCCI)

Indian cricket team for World Test Championship announced. The team looks set to take the field for the finale against New Zealand. The playing XI consists of all the names that have been predicted by experts so far. however, Mohammed Siraj misses the bus.

The Squad

Ishant Sharma will lead the pace attack comprises of himself, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammed Shami. The spin all-rounders are Ravindra Jadeja and R Ashwin. But Mohammed Siraj even after his performance in Australis has not been picked for the match against New Zealand. Jadeja’s inclusion has been bit surprising. However, the selectors probably thought of voting for experience. Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill will open the batting with Cheteshwar Pujara at No 3 followed by captain Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane at No 4 and 5 respectively. Ravindra Jadeja will come next to bat followed by R Ashwin. Both can be handy with the bat as all-rounders. Rishabh Pant’s inclusion is not surprising after his incredible form over last few months. proved to be used with the bat in crunch times.

Dinesh Karthik Reveals his Favorites for WTC Final

What Captain Thinks?

India and New Zealand will play the WTC final from June 18 at Rose Bowl, Southampton. Kohli, on the eve of the clash said, “If you are talking about Test team and deciding the best team based on one match over a period of five days, that is not the reality. This for us is just another Test match. The one-off Test is not going to reflect the truth. But the reality is what have done over the last 4-5 years. We are focussing on our processes. We are not here for a one-off Test. We are here for six Tests and the first Test begins tomorrow.”

India’s playing XI: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami

Farokh Engineer Explains How IPL Has Changed the Tunes of International Players

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram

What do you think?

Written by Shreyasi Talukdar


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


DUR vs LAN Live Cricket Score

T20 Blast, 2021 Live Score: DUR vs LAN Match 37 Live Cricket Score Ball by Ball Commentary, Scorecard & Results

Match 17 SKU vs GOZ Dream 11

ECS Malta, 2021  Match 17 SKU vs GOZ Dream11 Team Today